Category Archives: Weber Best Conference Paper Award

Weber Best Conference Paper Award – Deadline for Nominations: 1 April 2017

The Weber Best Conference Paper Award recognizes the best paper dealing with religion and politics presented at the previous year’s APSA Annual Meeting. The paper should address a timely and relevant topic, within the discipline and beyond, in a theoretically innovative and methodologically thorough manner. Please submit nominations to the chair of the committee. 

Deadline for nominations: 1 April 2017 – Self nominations welcome!

Prof Monica Duffy-Toft (Chair)
Professor of Government and Public Policy
Blavatnik School of Government
University of Oxford, UK

Dr David Siroky
Associate Professor of Political Science
School of Politics and Global Studies
Arizona State University, USA

Dr. Tanya B. Schwarz
Visiting Research Fellow
Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies
University of Notre Dame, USA

Dr Pazit Ben-Nun Bloom
Senior Lecturer
Political Science Department
Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel

From the Chair: 2016 Award Committees

Dear Religion and Politics Section Members:

I would like to invite all section members to become a member of our award committees for 2016 awards – the Aaron Wildavsky Dissertation Award and the Best Paper Award (descriptions below). These awards not only recognize the cutting-edge work being done in the field but actively shape the field and the careers of both emerging and established scholars.

Please email me at to express your interest. Committees will be convened in December and awards will be determined in June and presented at the 2016 meeting in Philadelphia. If you cannot commit to serving this year, please make a note to nominate your best dissertators and paper presenters later this year.

The Best Paper Award recognizes the best paper dealing with religion and politics presented at the previous years APSA Annual Meeting.

The Aaron Wildavsky Award recognizes the best dissertation on religion and politics successfully defended within the last two years.

Thank you,

Elizabeth Shakman Hurd
Chair, APSA Religion and Politics Section
Department of Political Science
Northwestern University

New – “Section Awards” Page on Section Site

For information about, and especially to submit nominations for, the three Section Awards, please see the Section’s New! page: Section Awards.

The new page is permanent and can always be reached by clicking the “Section Awards” tab on the top menu above.

Reminder: Deadline for all nominations is March 1, 2015.

2014-15 Prize Committees – send nominations

Dear Colleagues:

Thank you to the many of you who graciously stepped forward and volunteered to serve on the prize committees this year. Committees have now been finalized and are accepting nominations for the Best Paper, Best Book, and Best Dissertation awards.

Please send nominations directly to the 2014-15 prize committee chairs:

Morken Best Book Award (2012-14): Prof. Amaney Jamal of Princeton (;
Weber Best Paper award: Prof. Laura Olson of Clemson (
Wildavsky Best Dissertation award: Prof. Melani Cammett of Brown (

Thanks to all,

Elizabeth Shakman Hurd
Religion & Politics Section Chair