Call – APSA Religion and Politics Weber Award

Weber Best Paper in Religion and Politics Award recognizes the best paper dealing with religion and politics presented at the previous year’s APSA Annual Meeting (2019). The paper should address a timely and relevant topic, within the discipline and beyond, in a theoretically innovative and methodologically thorough manner.

Please submit nominations to the committee members by email by April  15th, 2020.

Andre Audette (Chair)
Monmouth College

Cynthia Burack
Ohio State University

Jonathan Chu
University of Pennsylvania

Call for Nominations – Aaron Wildavsky Best Dissertation in Religion and Politics

Section members:

The APSA Religion and Politics Section invites nominations for the Aaron Wildavsky Dissertation Award. The Aaron Wildavsky Award recognizes the best dissertation in the field of religion and politics. Eligible dissertations have been defended in the last two years (2018 or 2019), and should make a distinctive contribution to the study of religion and politics, broadly understood. Please submit nominations to the committee by email – self-nominations are welcome!

Nomination Instructions: Please send a letter of nomination (maximum 2 pages) and a copy of the dissertation to the committee by email.

Deadline for Nominations: April 15, 2020

Award Committee:

Christopher Hale (Chair) – University of Alabama –
David Buckley – University of Louisville –
Jason Klocek – University of Notre Dame –

Call for Nominations – Kenneth D. Wald Best Graduate Student Paper

Call for Nominations
Kenneth D. Wald Best Graduate Student Paper Award in Religion and Politics

Kenneth D. Wald Best Graduate Student Paper Award will be given to a conference paper studying any aspect of religion and politics presented by a Ph.D. student in political science in 2019. The conference can be affiliated with any of the US-based political science associations or a conference affiliated with another association, such as the Society for the Scientific Study of Religion, the American Academy of Religion, the Middle East Studies Association, or the International Studies Association, as long as the paper was written by a student or students enrolled in a graduate program in political science. Papers co-authored with faculty will not be considered. Papers presented at poster sessions are welcome. The award will be announced and presented at the annual APSA conference during the business meeting. The award committee is under no obligation to make an award if no submissions merit such recognition.

Nomination Instructions: Please send nominations (self-nominations are welcome) including an electronic copy of the paper and an electronic copy of the conference program listing to the committee members. Questions can be directed to the award committee chair.

Deadline for Nominations: April 30, 2020

Güneş Murat Tezcür (Chair)
University of Central Florida

Consuelo Amat
Stanford University

Kikue Hamayotsu
Northern Illinois University

APSA Religion and Politics Section Hubert Morken Best Book Award – Call for Nominations

Dear APSA Religion and Politics Section Members,

We would like to invite nominations for APSA’s 2020 Hubert Morken Best Book Award. The Hubert Morken Award is given for the best book dealing with religion and politics published within the previous year. The criteria for the award include the originality of the argument presented, quality of the research, innovative methods, readability of the text and the policy or practical implications of the scholarship.

To be eligible for the award, books must have been published in 2019. The nomination should include a brief statement (250-750 words) summarizing the book’s contributions and why it is nominated for the award. This statement can be sent by email. As part of the nomination, publishers should send a copy of the nominated book to EACH member of the awards committee at the addresses below, making sure that the books arrive by the nomination deadline, March 15th, 2020.

Self nominations are welcome.

If you have any questions, please contact the committee chair,
Rina Williams (

Committee Members Contact Information
Dr. Rina Williams
Dept. of Political Science
University of Cincinnati
Box 210375, Crosley Tower 1118
Cincinnati OH 45221-0375

Dr. Quin Monson
Political Science Dept.
Brigham Young University
745 Spencer W. Kimball Tower
Provo, UT 84602

Dr. Jonathan Agensky
Bentley Annex 211, 6 President St.
Department of Political Science
Ohio University
Athens, OH 45701

APSA Preprints

Dear Section Members,

APSA Preprints is a new platform dedicated to early research outputs in political science. Authors can upload unpublished content—including working/conference papers, presentations, and posters—to stake an early claim to their research, obtain a DOI, and solicit feedback from peers.

APSA Preprints accepts all types of political science research, broadly defined. Each preprint is uploaded to one of thirteen sub-fields. The best part? APSA Preprints is 100% free to browse and upload—and you can sign in using your APSA account.

APSA Preprints is a collaborative endeavor between the American Political Science Association and Cambridge University Press. Since its launch in August, 2019, users have uploaded more than 65 working papers, some of which have been downloaded more than 1,000 times. Some popular titles include “Who Will Defend Democracy? Evaluating Tradeoffs in Candidate Support Among Partisan Donors and Voters” (Nyhan et al.) and “Transparency in Practice and Qualitative Research” (Kapiszewski and Karcher).

To learn more about APSA Preprints and upload your working paper, presentation, or poster, visit  Please contact if you have any questions.