Call for Papers – “Religions” – Special Issue “Promise or Threat? Religious Presence in Civil Society”

Religions – Open Access Journal

From the Guest Editor

Dear Colleagues,

During the liminal period of the late medieval into the early modern eras, the gradual transition toward inductive reasoning of the early Renaissance, religious pluralism unleashed by the Protestant Reformation, and adoption of individual rights theory and contractarianism of the seventeenth century have furnished the conditions necessary for the emergence of civil society in the development of liberal democratic regimes.

This Special Issue of Religions will provide thoughtful assessments on and critiques of the extent to which religion poses a threat to contemporary civil society or holds the promise of protecting its liberal democratic character. Do religious values tend to undermine or reinforce civil society’s ability to promote political stability? To what extent, if any, are the political dynamics of religious pluralism a threat to civil society?

We invite submissions that address these or other related questions across a broad range of theoretical and methodological approaches, including those of comparative politics, history, law, philosophy, political science, religious studies, or theology.

Dr. John R. Pottenger
Guest Editor

For additional details, visit the Special Issue website.

See the .pdf flyer calling for papers.

Susanne Hoeber Rudolph Outstanding Scholar in Religion and Politics Award

The Susanne Hoeber Rudolph Outstanding Scholar Award recognizes a scholar who has made outstanding contributions to the field of religion and politics. These contributions should be through a combination of excellent and widely influential scholarship, policy input/impact, public engagement, service, teaching, and mentorship. Although the committee highly encourages nominations of APSA members and takes service to APSA seriously, nominees do not have to be current APSA members. The nominees are expected to attend the following year’s APSA Annual Meeting and participate in the roundtable organized in to celebrate their work.

The award is presented annually, following a review of applications by the committee. The winner will be honored with a plaque, a monetary award of $500, and a roundtable symposium honoring their work at the APSA Annual Meeting of the next calendar year. (The 2020 Susanne Hoeber Rudolph Awardee will be honored at the 2021 APSA Annual Meeting both during the business meeting and the roundtable).

The award is intended as an addition to, not replacement for, the practice of awarding special lifetime achievement awards’ for scholars who have made substantial contributions to the Section on the event of their retirement. Instead, this is meant to reward political scientists (including those who are mid-career) who have made a substantial contribution to the field of religion and politics.

Nomination letters and the CVs of the nominees are due to the Committee Chair, Ben Gaskins, ( by April 15, 2020. [Deadline extended to May 15, 2020] The nomination letter should clearly describe how the nominee fulfills the criteria described above. Since this award is meant to reflect peer recognition, self-nominations will not be considered.

Award Committee:

Ben Gaskins (
Lewis and Clark College

Tanya Schwarz (

Andrea Hatcher (
The University of the South

Call – APSA Religion and Politics Weber Award

Weber Best Paper in Religion and Politics Award recognizes the best paper dealing with religion and politics presented at the previous year’s APSA Annual Meeting (2019). The paper should address a timely and relevant topic, within the discipline and beyond, in a theoretically innovative and methodologically thorough manner.

Please submit nominations to the committee members by email by April  15th, 2020.

Andre Audette (Chair)
Monmouth College

Cynthia Burack
Ohio State University

Jonathan Chu
University of Pennsylvania

Call for Nominations – Aaron Wildavsky Best Dissertation in Religion and Politics

Section members:

The APSA Religion and Politics Section invites nominations for the Aaron Wildavsky Dissertation Award. The Aaron Wildavsky Award recognizes the best dissertation in the field of religion and politics. Eligible dissertations have been defended in the last two years (2018 or 2019), and should make a distinctive contribution to the study of religion and politics, broadly understood. Please submit nominations to the committee by email – self-nominations are welcome!

Nomination Instructions: Please send a letter of nomination (maximum 2 pages) and a copy of the dissertation to the committee by email.

Deadline for Nominations: April 15, 2020

Award Committee:

Christopher Hale (Chair) – University of Alabama –
David Buckley – University of Louisville –
Jason Klocek – University of Notre Dame –

Call for Nominations – Kenneth D. Wald Best Graduate Student Paper

Call for Nominations
Kenneth D. Wald Best Graduate Student Paper Award in Religion and Politics

Kenneth D. Wald Best Graduate Student Paper Award will be given to a conference paper studying any aspect of religion and politics presented by a Ph.D. student in political science in 2019. The conference can be affiliated with any of the US-based political science associations or a conference affiliated with another association, such as the Society for the Scientific Study of Religion, the American Academy of Religion, the Middle East Studies Association, or the International Studies Association, as long as the paper was written by a student or students enrolled in a graduate program in political science. Papers co-authored with faculty will not be considered. Papers presented at poster sessions are welcome. The award will be announced and presented at the annual APSA conference during the business meeting. The award committee is under no obligation to make an award if no submissions merit such recognition.

Nomination Instructions: Please send nominations (self-nominations are welcome) including an electronic copy of the paper and an electronic copy of the conference program listing to the committee members. Questions can be directed to the award committee chair.

Deadline for Nominations: April 30, 2020

Güneş Murat Tezcür (Chair)
University of Central Florida

Consuelo Amat
Stanford University

Kikue Hamayotsu
Northern Illinois University