Powell Graduate Mentoring Award

Powell Graduate Mentoring Award

Powell Graduate Mentoring Award

Established in 2012, this bi-annual award named in honor of G. Bingham Powell and initiated by his students is awarded to a political scientist who, throughout his or her career, has demonstrated a particularly outstanding commitment to the mentoring of graduate students in comparative politics.


Committee: Torben Iversen, Tasha Fairfield, Melina Platas Izama,
Recipient: John Huber (Columbia University)


Committee: Evelyne Huber, Anke Hassel, Mona Lena Krook
Recipient: Suzanne Berger, Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Co-winners: Barbara Geddes, UCLA; Karen Remmer, Duke University


David Collier, University of California, Berkeley

Selection Committees

2014:  Frances Rosenbluth, Chair, Daniel Posner, Sven Steinmo
2012:  Nancy Bermeo, chair, Geor Vanberg, Victor Shih