Sage Paper Award

Sage Paper Award

Sponsored by Sage Publications and established in 1997, the Sage Paper Award is awarded to the best paper in comparative politics presented at the previous APSA annual meeting.


Committee: Margit Tavits, Alisha Holland, and Allen Hicken
Recipient: Nirvikar Jassal (University of California, Berkeley)
Title: “Gender, Law Enforcement, and Access to Justice: Evidence form All-Women Police Stations in India.” APSA Annual Conference, 2019.


Committee: Rafaela Dancygier, Dan Triesman, Timothy Longman
Recipients: Jonathan Homola, Margit Tavits, Miguel Pereira, William Simoneau
Title: “Legacies of the Third Reich: Concentration Camps and Outgroup Intolerance”


Committee: Kenneth Greene, Robert Braun, Jessica Gottlieb
Recipients: Daniel Treisman
Title: “Democracy by Mistake”


Committee: Bill Clark, Aníbal Pérez-Liñán, Adrienne LeBas
Recipient: Barry Driscoll, Grinnell College
Title: “Elections and Goods Provision in Decentralized Developing Countries.”

Honorable Mention: Junyan Jiang, University of Chicago; Tianguang Meng, Tsinghua University; Qing Zhang, Columbia University
Title: “From Internet to Safety Net: The Policy Consequences of Online Participation in China.”

Honorable Mention: Kenneth F. Greene, University of Texas at Austin
Title: “Why Vote Buying Fails: Campaign Effects and the Elusive Swing Voter.”


Committee: Susan Woodward, Rebecca Weitz-Shapiro, Kevin Morrison
Recipients: Vladimir Gimpelson and Daniel Triesman
Title: “Misperceiving Inequality”


Committee: Alberto Simpser, Jeffrey Conroy-Krutz, Jennifer Fitzgerald



Alberto Simpser (University of Chicago), “The Intergenerational Persistence of Attitudes Towards Corruption”

Honorable Mention:

Jeffrey Conroy-Krutz (Michigan State University) and  Devra Moehler (Unniversity of Pennsylvania), “Mobilization by the Media? A Field Experiment on Partisan  Media Effects in Africa”


Nicholas Carnes, Georgetown University, and Noam Lupu, Juan March Institute and the University of Wisconsin-Madison, “Rethinking the Comparative Perspective on Class and Representation:  Evidence from Latin America.”


Rebecca Weitz-Shapiro, Brown University, “What Wins Votes:  Why Some Politicians Opt Out of Clientelism.” Presented at 2011 APSA Meeting.


Giovanni Capoccia, Oxford University, “Normative Frameworks, Electoral Interests, and the Boundaries of Legitimate Participation in Post-Fascist Democracies. The Case of Italy.” Presented at 2010 APSA meeting.


Noam Lupu, Princeton University and Jonas Pontusson, Universite de Geneve, 2011. “The Structure of Inequality and the Politics of Redistribution.” Presented at 2010 APSA meeting and American Political Science Review, 105 , pp 316-336 doi:10.1017/S0003055411000128.


Marcus Kreuzer, Villanova University, “Historical Knowledge and Quantitative Analysis:  The Case of the Origins of Proportional Representation” (September 1, 2009).  Presented at the 2009 APSA Meeting.  Available at SSRN:

Grigore Pop-Eleches, Princeton University and Graeme B. Robertson, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, “Elections, Information and Political Change in the Post Cold War Era.” Presented at 2009 APSA meeting.


Dan Slater, University of Chicago, and Benjamin Smith, University of Florida
“Economic Origins of Democratic Breakdown?  Contrary Evidence from Southeast Asia and Beyond.” Presented at 2008 APSA Meeting.


Daniel Ziblatt, Harvard University, “Rural Inequality and Electoral Authoritarianism.” Presented at 2007 APSA Meeting.


Lily L. Tsai, MIT,  “Informal Institutions, Accountability, and Public Goods Provision in Rural China.”  Presented at 2006 APSA Meeting.


Margarita Estevez-Abe, Harvard University, “Labor Markets, Public Policies and Gender Equality: The Varieties of Capitalism Perspective and Beyond.”  Presented at 2005 APSA Meeting.

Honorable Mention: James Gibson, “Land Inequality and Squatting in South Africa: Judging Historical Injustice.” Presented at 2005 APSA Meeting.


Macartan Humphreys, Columbia University, and Jeremy M. Weinstein, Stanford University, “Handling and Manhandling Civilians in Civil War:  Determinants of the Strategies of Warring Factions.”  Presented at 2004 APSA Meeting.

Lianjiang Li, Hong Kong Baptist University, “Popular Contention and Its Impact in Rural China.”  Presented at 2004 APSA Meeting.

Kevin J. O’Brien and Lianjiang Li, UC Berkeley, “Popular Contention and its Impact in Rural China.”  Presented at 2004 APSA Meeting.

Jeremy M. Weinstein, Stanford University, “Handling and Manhandling Civilians in Civil War:  Determinants of the Strategies of Warring Factors.”  Presented at 2004 APSA Meeting.


Daniel Posner, “The Political Salience of Cultural Difference: Why Chewas and Tumbukas are Allies in Zambia and Adversaries in Malawi.”  Presented at 2003 APSA Meeting.


Matthew Aaron Light, Frances M. Rosenbluth and Claudia Schrag, Yale University.  “The Politics of Low Fertility:  Global Markets, Women’s Employment and Birth Rates in Four Industrialized Democracies.”  Presented at 2002 APSA Meeting.

Honorable Mention

Anne Wren, Stanford University, “Government Formation in Corporatist Countries:  An Application of the Portfolio Allocation Model to the Dutch Case.”


James Gibson, Washington University, “Does Truth Lead to Reconcilliation?  Testing the Casual Assumptions of the South African Truth and Reconcilliation Process.”  Presented at 2001 APSA Meeting.


Alberto Diaz-Cayeros, UCSD and UCLA, Beatriz Magaloni, Stanford University, and Barry Weingast, UCLA, “Federalism and Democratization in Mexico.”  Presented at the 2000 APSA Meeting.


Torben Iversen, Harvard University, and Thomas R. Cusack, Wissenschafzentrum, Berlin.  “The Causes of Welfare State Expansion:  Deindustrialization or Globalization?”  Presented at 1999 APSA Meeting.


Barbara Geddes, UCLA, “Authoritarian Breakdown:  Empirical Test of a Game Theoretic Argument.”  Presented at 1998 APSA meeting.


Joel S. Hellman,  European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, “Winners Take All:  The Politics of Partial Reform.”  Presented at 1997 APSA Meeting.


Duane Swank, Marquette University, “Funding the Welfare State.”  Presented at 1996 APSA Meeting.

Isabella Mares, Harvard University
“Negotiating Risks:  Employers and Development of Unemployment Insurance.”  Presented at 1996 APSA Meeting.

Sage Article Award Selection Committee

2013 Rebecca Weitz-Shapiro, Chair, Jan Teorell, Henry Hale
2012 Giovanni Capoccia, chair, Leonardo R. Arriola, and Nita Rudra
2011 Marcus Kreuzer, chair, Grigo Pop-Eleches and Tulia Falleti
2010 Dorothy J. Solinger, chair, Adam Kocher and Daniel Ziblat
2009 Frances Hagopian, chair, Aseem Prakash and William Hurst
2008 James Robinson, chair, Brian Burgoon, Sebastian Saiegh
2007 Chris Anderson, chair, Yoshiko Herrera, David S. Brown
2006 David Laitin, chair, Kenneth M. Roberts, Mark Hallerberg
2005 J. Nicholas Ziegler, chair, Daniel N. Posner, Carol A. Mershon
2004 Michael Lewis-Beck, chair, Scott Mainwaring, Eva Bellin
2003 Michael Wallerstein, chair, Sofia Perez, Matthew Shugart
2002 Duane Swank, chair, Ken Roberts, Bernie Grofman
2001 Barry Ames, chair, Carles Boix, Anthony Marx
2000 Jean C. Oi, chair, Edward L. Gibson, Rui de Figueriedo
1999 Peter Hall, chair, Wendy Hunter, Jim Robinson
1998 Barbara Geddes, chair, Michael Bratton, Kathleen Thelen
1997 Desmond King, chair, Allan Kornberg, and Peter Gourevitch