Stephen Eric Bronner Dissertation Award

Stephen Eric Bronner Dissertation Award

For an outstanding Political Science dissertation finished within the previous year of the APSA Meeting which exemplifies the commitment to use scholarship in the struggle for a better world.

2018: Rafael Khachaturian
“Discipline, Knowledge, and Critique: Marxist Theory and the Revival of the State in American Political Science, 1968-1989.” Indiana University, 2017

2017: Kevin Funk, Spring Hill College
“Between National Attachments, Rooted Transnationalism, and Borderless Utopias: Searching for Imagined Communities in Latin America’s Booming Economic Relations with the Arab World.” University of Florida, 2016

2016: Dean Snyder, Antioch College
“Commercial Capital and the Political Economy of Agricultural Overproduction.” Syracuse University, 2015 

Additional Recipients »


Deadline for nominations: April 1, 2019

Nomination Instructions: Nominations must be made in writing to the Committee Chair by a member of the dissertation committee or a scholar with relevant knowledge of the dissertation, and all three committee members (excluding the Honorary member) must receive a copy by April 1st in order to be eligible for consideration.

Award Committee

Rafael Khachaturian, Chair
University of Pennsylvania
Laura Katz Olson
Lehigh University
Peter Wagner
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
 Stephen Eric Bronner (Honorary)
Rutgers University