Mildred A. Schwartz Lifetime Achievement Award Past Recipients

2011 Award-Winners (two)

Allan Kornberg, Duke University

Allan Kornberg recently retired as the Norb F. Schaefer Professor of Political Science at Duke University, where he had a distinguished career and contributed immeasurably to the high regard with which Canadian Studies is held at that university and throughout the political science community here and abroad.

Among his notable achievements at Duke has been the mentoring of a significant number of students who have themselves gone on to study Canada.

Allan’s scholarship has been recognized in a number of forums, for example, in his receiving the Samuel Eldersveld Award for Lifetime Achievement from the American Political Science Association.

Professor Kornberg’s scholarly contribution includes eleven books and numerous articles that he has authored or co-authored. His entire corpus of scholarly research has something important to say about Canada, whether exclusively or through comparative analysis with other countries.

John C. Courtney, University of Saskatchewan

John C. Courtney, Professor Emeritus at the University of Saskatchewan, is a distinguished political scientist who is recognized internationally as an expert on electoral systems.

He is the author or co-author of ten scholarly volumes plus numerous articles. In addition, he has written many reports for government agencies, both in Canada and abroad, recommending policy changes with respect to electoral systems.

Recognition of Professor Courtney’s scholarly contributions to the study of Canada comes from many international sources.  In particular, we call attention to his tenure as:  Canada-US Fulbright Scholar at The Brookings Institution; Halbert Visiting Professor of Political Science and Canadian Studies, Hebrew University; William Lyon Mackenzie King Visiting Professor in Canadian Studies, Harvard University; and Visiting Professor of Canadian Studies, Philipps-University, Marburg, Germany.

2010 Award-Winner

Jill McCalla Vickers

Jill Vickers received her Ph.D. at the London School of Economics and joined the faculty of Carleton University in 1971. She is a renowned authority on the politics of women’s rights, comparative approaches to women’s participation, and the relationship between gender and nationalism.

In 2002 the Canadian Political Science Association established the Jill Vickers Prize in Gender and Politics to celebrate her scholarship. She was named a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada in 2003, the same year that Carleton University awarded her a Chancellor’s Professorship in Political Science.

She was President of both the Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women and the Canadian Association of University Teachers, Secretary-Treasurer of the Canadian Women’s Studies Association, and Parliamentarian with the National Action Committee on the Status of Women.

Jill Vickers retired in 1997 as Distinguished Professor of Political Science and Emeritus Professor at Carleton University.