Organized Section on Experimental Research: Initial Officers

Note: President, President Elect, and one at –large council member serve one year terms. The Secretary, Treasurer, and two at-large council members serve two year terms.

I am assuming it is best to keep terms on the calendar year for long term clarity.

On the one year council member, I flipped a coin and Rose lost and thus got the one year term (sorry Rose).

THUS:

President: Don Green (for 2010).

President-elect: Jamie Druckman (for 2010).

At-large Council: Rose McDermott (2010), Mike Tomz (2010-2011), Lynn Vavreck (2010-

2011)

Treasurer: Kevin Esterling (2010-2011) Secretary: Costas Panagopoulos (2010-2011)

Newsletter editor: Dustin Tingley (2010-2011, renewable and directly appointed by the

President)

The nominating committee, at the 2010 meeting, needs to nominate 2011 officers for President, President-elect, and one at-large council member. The President will be Jamie Druckman and President —elect will be Becky Morton (who then becomes President in 2012). The new at-large council member will replace Rose and serve 2011-2012. Mike and Lynn will be replaced the next year by two people who also will have two year terms of 2012-2013. (Thus the committee just needs to find one at large council member. This will be voted on at the meeting.)

The nominating committee this year will be: all current officers.

Agenda Items

- 1. Vote on aforementioned nominated slate (which needs to add one at large council member).
- 2. The President-Elect, in consultation with the entire council, is responsible for choosing the program chair. Jamie (via Don) has already chosen Kevin Arceneaux to serve that role in 2011. Becky as the next President-Elect will choose someone the next year for 2012.
- 3. The President, in consultation with the entire council, is responsible for appointing a nominating committee. Thus Don will do this and that committee will then be responsible for nominations in 2011. This committee will have to nominate individuals to replace the other two at-large council members (i.e., Mike and Lynn), the President-elect for 2012 (who will then be President in 2013), and a new Secretary and Treasury.

- 4. The President, in consultation with the entire council, is responsible for choosing the award committees. Thus Don will have to do this for:
 - a. Best Book Committee (completed the year before)
 - b. Best Paper at prior year's apsa Committee
 - c. Best Dissertation Committee (completed the year before)
- 5. We can discuss journal adoption.

2011 Officers

President: Jamie Druckman (2011) President-elect: Becky Morton (2011)

At-large Council: Don Green (2011-2012), Mike Tomz (2010-2011), Lynn Vavreck (2010-2011)

Treasurer: Kevin Esterling (2010-2011) Secretary: Costas Panagopoulos (2010-2011)

Newsletter editor: Dustin Tingley (2010-2011)