Category Archives: Section Chair

2020 VIRTUAL Business Meeting – September 10

Dear Religion and Politics Section Colleagues,

Our business meeting will take place through APSA’s virtual meeting platform on September 10, at 4:30 pm (mountain time), followed by a virtual reception. All registered participants have access to the program and the platform – there will not be a separate zoom link.

Our business agenda is below. We look forward to seeing you and catching up on Thursday!

Best wishes,
Religion and Politics Section Executive Committee

APSA Religion and Politics
Section Meeting Agenda
9/10/2020 – 4:30-5:30 Mountain Time

Executive Committee 2019- 2020

Nukhet A. Sandal (Chair)
Amy Erica Smith (Chair Elect)
Güneş Murat Tezcür (Secretary/Treasurer)
Rina Williams
Chris Hale
Andrea Hatcher
Andre Audette

2020 Program Chairs

Andrew Lewis
Sultan Tepe


1. Section Chair’s Welcome & Overview (Nukhet Sandal)

2. Treasurer’s report (Güneş Murat Tezcür)

3. Journal report (Elizabeth Oldmixon)

4. Program Chairs’ Report (Sultan Tepe and Andrew Lewis)

5. Religion and Politics Mentoring Program Updates & Discussion (Laura Dudley Jenkins & Brian Calfano)

6. Research Awards Updates (Amy Erica Smith)

7. 2020 Religion and Politics Awards

a. Hubert Morken Best Book in Religion and Politics Award (presented by Rina Williams)
b. Aaron Wildavsky Best Dissertation in Religion and Politics Award (presented by Chris Hale)
c. Kenneth D. Wald Best Graduate Student Paper Award (presented by Güneş Murat Tezcür)
d. Weber Best Conference Paper in Religion and Politics Award (presented by Nukhet Sandal)
e. Ted Jelen Best Journal Article in Politics and Religion Award (presented by Amy Erica Smith)
f. Updates on Susanne Hoeber Rudolph Outstanding Scholar in Religion and Politics Award

8. Introduction of New Section Officers and Program Chairs

9. New business from the floor

Save the date – September 10 – *Virtual* Section Business Meeting

Dear Religion and Politics Section Members,

As part of APSA’s *Virtual* Annual Meeting, our section business meeting will take place on September 10, 4:30 pm – 5:30 pm (Mountain Time) which will be followed by the Section reception/social at 5:30 pm- 7pm (Mountain Time).  We will send a Zoom link closer to date, but we wanted to reach out now to make sure that you put the business meeting and reception onto your calendars!

Please keep in mind that, similar to the in-person conventions, attendance in the business meeting and reception will require APSA Annual Meeting registration.

For questions, please contact Section Chair, Nukhet A. Sandal (

2019 Section Business Meeting Agenda

From the Chair:

Religion and Politics – Business Meeting Agenda

Thursday August 29, 2019, 6:30–7:30 pm
Public Religion Research Institute.
1023 15TH ST NW, 9th Floor
Washington, DC 20005
I. Section Chair’s report (Matthew Scherer)
II. Journal report (Jon Gurstelle and Chris Robinson for Elizabeth Oldmixon)
III. Treasurer’s report (Amy Eric Smith)
IV. Program Chair’s report (Chris Hale and Avital Livny)
V. Process for Susanne Hoeber Rudolph Outstanding Scholar Award (Ben Gaskins)
VI. New Section Initiatives overview and discussion (Tanya Schwartz)
VII. Introduction of New Section Officers
VIII. New business from the floor
IX. 2018 Politics and Religion Awards
A. Ken Wald Best Graduate Student Paper, Consuelo Amat (Daniel Bennett)
B. Weber Best Conference Paper Award, Jonathan Chu and Carrie Lee
C. Ted Jellen Best Journal Article Award, Elizabeth Sperber and Erin Hern (Paul Djupe)
D. Aaron Wildavsky Best Dissertation Award, Jason Klocek (Eunsook Jung)
E. Hubert Morken Best Book Award, Marie-Eve Reny (Nukhet Sandal)
X. Welcome from Robert P. Jones, Ph.D. CEO and Founder of PRRI

Reception: 7:30–9:00 pm

APSA 2019 – Section Offsite Meeting and Reception

From Matt, Section Chair:

Dear Colleagues,

I look forward to seeing many of you at APSA over the next few days.

Please note on THURSDAY the Religion and Politics

business meeting (6:30–7:30pm)
and reception (7:30–9:00pm)

are both being hosted OFFSITE by the Public Religion Research Institute.

The address is:

1023 15TH ST NW, 9th Floor
Washington, DC 20005

This is two miles from the Marriot Wardman Park Hotel.

This is a 12 minute drive or two stops on the metro (exit Farragut North) + a three block walk.

CONGRATULATIONS to new Executive Council members:

Chris Hale
Rina Williams
Güneş Murat Tezcür

THANKS in advance to next year’s program chairs:

Andrew Lewis
Sultan Tepe

Call for Nominations for Executive Committee (2018)

From the Chair:

The Religion and Politics Section of the APSA is pleased to announce a Call for Nominations for candidates to stand in an upcoming online election to serve a two-year term on the Executive Committee of the Religion and Politics Section. There are three vacancies on the Committee to be filled in this election.

Section members who wish to self-nominate as candidates should forward a short biography, including their institutional affiliation, to the Section Chair, Matthew Scherer, at no later than August 10, 2018.

Nominees who do not self-nominate will be asked by the Chair to consent to having their name on the ballot. An online election held be held shortly after nominations close. According to APSA online elections are administered as follows:

1. APSA will send an email to all current section members with a message from the Chair that includes the names of the candidates, candidate bios, the number of positions open, the voting dates, and a link to the ballot.

2. The ballot typically gives the candidates’ names, and the option of choosing yes, no, or abstain.

3. When the voting period has concluded APSA will send a detailed report of the results to the Section Chair, who will convey the results via email to the section. I look forward to receiving your nominations.

Matthew Scherer
Section Chair
Religion & Politics