The IHAP section awards two annual prizes:

The Robert L. Jervis and Paul W. Schroeder Best Book Award for the best book on International History and Politics. This award may be granted to a single-authored or multi-authored book, or to an edited volume. The award will be given to works published in the calendar year prior to the year of the APSA meeting at which the award is presented. The copyright date of a book will establish the relevant year.

To be considered for the award, nominations must be received by January 31, 2022. 

Please send your nominations directly to the committee. While the committee members would prefer hard copies, we understand supply chain issues might make only .pdfs possible.

Steven Lobell, chair ( 

Department of Political Science

University of Utah
Gardner Commons Building

260 S. Central Campus Drive, Room 3345

Salt Lake City, Utah 84112


Julia Costa Lopez (

University of Groningen, Dep. IRIO

Oude Kijk in ’t Jatstraat 26

9712 EK Groningen

The Netherlands


Lora Viola (

Wielandstr. 36

12159 Berlin



Deadline for nominations: January 31, 2022

The Outstanding Article Award in International History and Politics, which recognizes exceptional peer-reviewed journal articles representing the mission of the section, including innovative work that brings new light to events and processes in international politics, encourages interdisciplinary conversations between political scientists and historians, and advances historiographical methods. The Outstanding Article Award is given to a published article that appeared in print in the calendar year preceding the APSA meeting at which the award is presented. It may be granted to an article that is single- or co-authored. The year of final journal publication, as detailed by print citation, establishes eligibility.

Nominations including a brief description of the significance of the article and a digital copy of the article should be sent directly to the committee:

Orfeo Fioretos (; 

Lindsey O’Rourke (; 

Yashiro Izumikawa (

***Please limit article nominations to ONE submission***

Deadline for nominations: January 31, 2022