Aaron Wildavsky Dissertation Award – Nominations Invited – Deadline April 1st, 2017

The Religion & Politics Section invites nominations for the Aaron Wildavsky Dissertation Award. 

Dissertations must have been defended in 2015 or 2016. Nominated dissertations need to be sent to all members of the committee by email with a short bio of the author by April 1st.  Self-nominations are accepted and encouraged.

The committee will look for and evaluate the following qualities in the submissions: Clearly defined, timely/relevant topic; solid and original theoretical grounding; rigorous / innovative methodology; significance / potential impact of the dissertation project.

If you have any questions about the award, please contact the committee chair, Nukhet Sandal.

Aaron Wildavsky Award Committee


Dr Nukhet Sandal (Chair)
Assistant Professor and Director of War and Peace Studies Program
Political Science
Ohio University, USA

Dr Ryan Claassen
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science
Kent State University, USA

Mona Oraby
2016-17 Jerome Hall Postdoctoral Fellow
Maurer School of Law
Indiana University, USA

Dr Gizem Arikan
Associate Professor
Department of International Relations
Yasar University
Izmir, Turkey