APSA Religion and Politics Section Hubert Morken Best Book Award – Call for Nominations

Dear APSA Religion and Politics Section Members,

We would like to invite nominations for APSA’s 2020 Hubert Morken Best Book Award. The Hubert Morken Award is given for the best book dealing with religion and politics published within the previous year. The criteria for the award include the originality of the argument presented, quality of the research, innovative methods, readability of the text and the policy or practical implications of the scholarship.

To be eligible for the award, books must have been published in 2019. The nomination should include a brief statement (250-750 words) summarizing the book’s contributions and why it is nominated for the award. This statement can be sent by email. As part of the nomination, publishers should send a copy of the nominated book to EACH member of the awards committee at the addresses below, making sure that the books arrive by the nomination deadline, March 15th, 2020.

Self nominations are welcome.

If you have any questions, please contact the committee chair,
Rina Williams (willi3ra@ucmail.uc.edu)

Committee Members Contact Information
Dr. Rina Williams
Dept. of Political Science
University of Cincinnati
Box 210375, Crosley Tower 1118
Cincinnati OH 45221-0375

Dr. Quin Monson
Political Science Dept.
Brigham Young University
745 Spencer W. Kimball Tower
Provo, UT 84602

Dr. Jonathan Agensky
Bentley Annex 211, 6 President St.
Department of Political Science
Ohio University
Athens, OH 45701