Category Archives: Call for Nominations

Aaron Wildavsky Award – 2018 – Call for Nominations

From the Chair:

The Aaron Wildavsky Award recognizes the best dissertation in the field of religion and politics. Eligible dissertations have been defended in the last two years, and should make a distinctive contribution to the study of religion and politics, broadly understood. Please submit nominations to the chair of the committee – self-nominations are welcome!

Submission deadline: April 15, 2018.

Committee Members:

Dr. Daniel Bennett (chair), John Brown University,

Dr. Jonathan Agensky, Ohio University,

Dr. Michelle Margolis, University of Pennsylvania,

Weber Best Paper Award – Nominations Open

From the Chair:

The Weber Best Conference Paper Award recognizes the best paper dealing with religion and politics presented at the previous year’s APSA Annual Meeting. The paper should address a timely and relevant topic, within the discipline and beyond, in a theoretically innovative and methodologically thorough manner.

Please submit nominations to the chair of the committee (below).
Deadline for nominations: 15 April 2018 – Self nominations welcome!

Dr Stacey Gutkowski (Chair)
Senior Lecturer in Conflict Studies
Department of War Studies
King’s College London

Dr Jonathan C. Agensky
Assistant Professor
Department of Political Science
Ohio University

Dr Amelie Barras
Assistant Professor
Social Science Department
York University (Toronto, Canada)

Dr Ben Gaskins
Assistant Professor
Department of Political Science
Lewis & Clark College

Kenneth D. Wald Best Graduate Student Paper Award – Deadline: 15 April 2018

From the Chair:

Dear Religion and Politics Section Members,

The Kenneth D. Wald Best Graduate Student Paper Award is now open for nominations

The Award will be given annually to a conference paper studying any aspect of religion and politics presented by a Ph.D. student in political science. The conference can be affiliated with any of the US-based political science associations or a conference affiliated with another association, such as the Society for the Scientific Study of Religion, the American Academy of Religion, the Middle East Studies Association, or the International Studies Association, as long as the paper was written by a student or students enrolled in a graduate program in political science (at the time of the presentation). Papers written with faculty will not be considered. Papers presented at poster sessions are welcome. The award will be announced and presented at the annual APSA conference during the business meeting. The award committee is under no obligation to make an award if no submissions merit such recognition.

Deadline: 15 April 2018

Please send nominations (self-nomination is okay) including an electronic copy of the paper and an electronic copy of the conference program listing to the committee chair.

Committee Chair:

Dr. Jacob Neiheisel
Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science
University at Buffalo
SUNY 422 Park Hall
Buffalo, NY 14260


Dr. Quin Monson
Associate Professor, Department of Political Science
Brigham Young University 745 SWKT
Provo, UT 84602

Dr. Michele Margolis
Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science
University of Pennsylvania, 243 Stiteler Hall
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Dr. Amanda Friesen
Associate Professor, Department of Political Science
Faculty Research Fellow, Center for the Study of Religion and American Culture
Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis Cavanaugh 417A
Indianapolis 46202


2018 Hubert Morken Best Book Award – Call for Nominations

Dear APSA Religion and Politics Section Members,

We would like to invite nominations for APSA’s 2018 Hubert Morken Best Book Award.  The Hubert Morken Award is given for the best book dealing with religion and politics published during the last two years. The criteria for the award include the originality of the argument presented, quality of the research, innovative methods, readability of the text and the policy or practical implications of the scholarship.

To be eligible for the award, books must have been published in 2016 or 2017. The nomination should include a brief statement (250-750 words) summarizing the book’s contributions and why it is nominated for the award. This statement can be sent by email. As part of the nomination, publishers should send a copy of the nominated book to EACH member of the awards committee at the addresses below, making sure that the books arrive by the nomination deadline, March 15th, the latest.

Self nominations are welcome.

If you have any questions, please contact the committee chair, Nukhet A. Sandal (

Committee Members Contact Information

Nukhet A. Sandal
Associate Professor
Ohio University
Department of Political Science
Bentley Annex 259
Athens OH 45701

Jim Guth
Department of Politics and International Affairs
111T Johns Hall
Furman University
Greenville SC 29613

Ani Sarkissian
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science
Michigan State University
368 Farm Lane, S303
East Lansing, MI 48824

Amy Erica Smith
Assistant Professor
Department of Political Science
Iowa State University
503 Ross Hall
Ames, IA 50011

Call for Nominations for 3 openings on Executive Committee

image from law.typepad.comFrom the Chair:

The Religion and Politics Section of the APSA is pleased to announce a Call for Nominations for candidates to stand in an upcoming election to serve a two-year term on the Executive Committee of the Religion and Politics section. Three vacancies will be filled in this election. Section members who wish to self-nominate as candidates should forward a one-paragraph biography, including their institutional affiliation, to the Section Chair at no later than July 15, 2017.

Nominees who do not self-nominate will be asked by the Chair to consent to having their name on the ballot.

This Call for Nominations will close on July 15, 2017. The election will take place at the Annual Business Meeting held during the APSA Annual Convention in San Francisco on Thursday, August 31 2017, 6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. Facility: Parc 55
Room:  Cyril Magnin III.

Members who are unable to attend the business meeting in person will be able to vote for nominees via an online ballot from 1 August until 5pm on 31 August. Details of the ballot will be announced following the closure of nominations.

I look forward to receiving your nominations.

Thank you,

Erin Wilson
Section Chair, Religion and Politics, APSA