Category Archives: Call for Nominations

Call for Nominations for Communications Coordinator

From the Section Chair:

Dear Religion and Politics Section Members,

Religion and Politics Section is calling for nominations, including self-nominations, for the Communications Coordinator position. The Communications Coordinator oversees, coordinates, and updates the content of the section website and manages the section correspondence as well as the Twitter account in coordination with the other members of the Executive Committee. The Communications Coordinator is an ex-officio member of the Executive Committee, and must be a member of the section once appointed.

The section currently uses WordPress and Twitter in addition to APSA Connect, so any experience with WordPress and/or Twitter would be considered a plus. If you are interested in serving the section in this capacity, please send a short bio (150 words max) to the section chair, Nukhet Sandal (, by August 15. The Communications Coordinator will be elected to a two-year term by (virtual) secret ballot or acclamation (if only one nominee is presented) of the section members, and will be announced together with the new Executive Committee members at the Annual Business Meeting.

Call for Nominations for Religion and Politics Executive Committee (2021)

APSA Religion and Politics Section is pleased to announce a Call for Nominations for candidates to stand in an upcoming online election to serve a two-year term on the Executive Committee of the section. There are three vacancies on the Committee to be filled in this election.

All nominees should be current members of the Religion and Politics Section. Section members may self-nominate. If you are nominating a colleague, please make sure that you have their consent before nomination, and cc them on the nomination email.

Please forward the candidate’s short biography (no more than 150 words), including the candidate’s institutional affiliation, to the Section Chair, Nukhet A. Sandal (, by July 15, 2021.

An online election will be held after nominations close and results will be announced before the APSA 2021 Annual Meeting.

We look forward to receiving your nominations.

Religion and Politics Section Executive Committee

Extended Deadline: Nominations – Susanne Hoeber Rudolph Outstanding Scholar Award

Nomination Deadline Extension to April 20, 2021

Susanne Hoeber Rudolph Outstanding Scholar Award

The Susanne Hoeber Rudolph Outstanding Scholar Award recognizes a scholar who has made outstanding contributions to the field of religion and politics. These contributions should be through a combination of excellent and widely influential scholarship, policy input/impact, public engagement, service, teaching, and mentorship. Although the committee highly encourages nominations of APSA members and takes service to APSA seriously, nominees do not have to be current APSA members. The nominees are expected to attend the following year’s APSA Annual Meeting and participate in the roundtable organized in to celebrate their work.

The award is presented annually, following a review of applications by the committee. The winner will be honored with a plaque, a monetary award of $500, and a roundtable symposium honoring their work at the APSA Annual Meeting of the next calendar year. (The 2021 Susanne Hoeber Rudolph Awardee will be honored at the 2022 APSA Annual Meeting both during the business meeting and the roundtable).

The award is intended as an addition to, not replacement for, the practice of awarding special ‘lifetime achievement awards’ for scholars who have made substantial contributions to the Section on the event of their retirement. Instead, this is meant to reward political scientists (including those who are mid-career) who have made a substantial contribution to the field of religion and politics.

Nomination letters and the CVs of the nominees are due to the Committee Chair, Jocelyne Cesari ( by April 20, 2021. The nomination letter should clearly describe how the nominee fulfills the criteria described above. Since this award is meant to reflect peer recognition, self-nominations will not be considered.

Award Committee:
Jocelyne Cesari (
Joel Fetzer (
Sultan Tepe (

Deadline Approaching – Aaron Wildavsky Best Dissertation Award: April 15, 2021


Deadline for Nominations: April 15, 2021

APSA Religion and Politics Section invites nominations for the Aaron Wildavsky Dissertation Award. The Aaron Wildavsky Award recognizes the best dissertation in the field of religion and politics. Eligible dissertations have been defended in the last two years (2019 or 2020), and should make a distinctive contribution to the study of religion and politics, broadly understood. Please submit nominations to the committee members by email – self-nominations are welcome!

Nomination Instructions: Please send a letter of nomination (maximum 2 pages) and a copy of the dissertation to the committee members by email.

Award Committee:
Rina Williams (Chair)
University of Cincinnati

Peter Henne
University of Vermont

Kristina Teater
US Commission on International Religious Freedom

Guadalupe Tuñón
Princeton University

Deadline Approaching – Kenneth D. Wald Best Graduate Student Paper Award

The Kenneth D. Wald Best Graduate Student Paper Award will be given annually to a conference paper studying any aspect of religion and politics presented by a Ph.D. student in political science. The conference can be affiliated with any of the US-based political science associations or a conference affiliated with another association, such as the Society for the Scientific Study of Religion, the American Academy of Religion, the Middle East Studies Association, or the International Studies Association, as long as the paper was written by a student or students enrolled in a graduate program in political science and presented in 2019 or 2020. Papers written with faculty will not be considered. Papers presented at poster sessions are welcome. The award will be announced and presented at the annual APSA conference during the business meeting. The award committee is under no obligation to make an award if no submissions merit such recognition. Nomination Instructions: Please send nominations (self-nomination is okay) including an electronic copy of the paper and an electronic copy of the conference program listing to the committee members.

Deadline for Nominations: April 15, 2021

Award Committee:

Christopher Hale (Committee Chair)
The University of Alabama
Robert Braithwaite
Michigan State University
Esen Kirdis
Rhodes College