Susan Clarke Young Scholar Award

Ann Bowman presents the Susan Clarke Young Scholar Award to Peter Bucchianeri, Carrie A. LeVan, and Sally A. Nuamah
Ann Bowman presents the Susan Clarke Young Scholar Award to Peter Bucchianeri,
Carrie A. LeVan, and Sally A. Nuamah at the 2019 APSA annual conference.

The Susan Clarke Young Scholar Award recognizes scholars who completed their Ph.D. within the last three years (or are ABDs) and submitted a paper proposal for the 2022 APSA meeting to the 2022 program chairs.

Nomination Instructions: Please send the paper proposal to the award committee directly and designate that you are eligible for the Susan Clarke Young Scholars’ Award. Applicants may self-nominate.

Deadline for Nominations: March 15, 2022

Award Committee (2022):

  • Jamila Michener (Cornell) – Chair,
  • Myria Holman (Tulane),
  • Christina Greer (Fordham),


Susan Clarke Young Scholars Award:

2021 Maria Carreri, Assistant Professor, UC San Diego School of Global Policy and Strategy.

Tanu Kumar, Postdoctoral Fellow, William & Mary Professor of Political Science, William & Mary Global Research Institute.

2020 Jonathan Collins, Assistant Professor, Department of Education & Affiliate of the Department of Political Science, Brown University.
Michael Hankinson, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science, Baruch College – City University of New York.
Amy Schoenecker, Assistant Professor, Department of Politics, Economics and International Studies, University of Hartford.
2019 Peter Bucchianeri, Vanderbilt University
Carrie A. LeVan, Colby College
Sally A. Nuamah, Northwestern University
2018 Patricia Kirkland, Princeton University
Peter Johannessen, Harvard University
2017 Nazita Lajevardi, Michigan State University
David Kaufmann, University of Bern
Diane Wong, Cornell University
Sally Lawton, Johns Hopkins
2016 Zachary Spicer, Brock University
Carolyn Barnes
, Duke University

Norton Long Young Scholars Award:

2015 Karin Kitchens
Justin de Benedictis-Kessner
Amy Schoenecker
2014 Laurel Eckhouse
Melissa Sands
Carley Shinault
2013 Mark Davis, University of Colorado, Denver
Zachary Spicer, University of Western Ontario
Veronica Herrera, University of Connecticut
Sara Hughes, National Center for Atmospheric Research
2011 Gabe Eidelman
Jen Nelles
Josh Sapotichne
Francis Shen
Manny Teodoro
2010 Justin Gest, London School of Economics and Political Science, “Alienation among European Muslims: Spanish Moroccans and British Bangladeshis”
Scott Minkoff, University of Colorado, Boulder, “A Space-Time Analysis of Local Competition and Cooperation”
Meg Rithmire, Harvard University, “Closed Neighborhoods in Open Cities: The Politics of Socio-Spatial Change in Urban China”
Paolo Spada, Yale University, “The Effects of Participatory Democracy: Evidence from Brazilian Participatory Budgeting”
Manuel Teodoro, Colgate University, “Political Institutions and Environmental Policy Choices: Water Conservation in America”
2009 Christopher Gore
Andra Gillespie
Scott MacKenzie
Yue Zhang
2004 Brian Adams, San Diego State University
Joshua Behr, Old Dominion University
Michael Owens, Emory University
Deborah Ward, Seton Hall University
2002 Carol Conaway, Wellesley College, “Covering Mayors: Race, Riots, and Responsibility”
Mara Sidney,
Rutgers University, Newark
Brady Baybeck,
University of Missouri, St. Louis
Gustavo Cano
, University of San Diego
2001 Peter Burns, Trinity College, “Electoral Politics Is Not Enough: The Ongoing Struggle of African Americans and Latinos for Full Representation in Urban Politics”
Anirudh Ruhil, University of Illinois at Chicago, “Beyond Lipservice: Unpacking the Roots and Fruits of Municipal Institutions”