Nominations

The Political Psychology section of APSA gives out several awards each year at APSA. The nomination deadline for the 2022 APSA awards is April 15, 2022. See below for details for 2022 nominations.

ROBERT E. LANE AWARD. The Robert E. Lane Award for the best book in political psychology published in the past year.

Please send an email to all three members of the committee to nominate a book. Upon receipt of the nomination, two committee members (Reny and Bauer) will reply with instructions for sending the nominated book. The mailing address for the third committee member (White) is below. Self nominations are welcome. Nominations must be received by 4/15.

Tyler Reny, Claremont Graduate University: ttreny@gmail.com

Nichole Bauer, Louisiana State University: nbauer4@lsu.edu

Ismail White, Princeton University:  iwhite@princeton.edu

Ismail K. White

Department of Politics – Princeton University

215 Fisher Hall

Princeton, NJ 08544-1012

 

BEST PAPER AWARD. The Best Paper Award is given to the most outstanding paper in political psychology delivered at the previous year’s Annual Meeting.

Please send an electronic copy of the paper to each committee member by April 15. Self nominations are welcome.

Christine Slaughter, Princeton University: christineslaughter@princeton.edu 

Marcel Roman, University of Texas: mfmarcel@utexas.edu

Vivien Leung, Bucknell University: vl004@bucknell.edu

 

BEST DISSERTATION AWARD. The Best Dissertation Award is given for the best dissertation in political psychology filed during the previous year. 

Please send an electronic copy of the dissertation to each committee member by April 15th. Self nominations are welcome. 

Matt Nelson, University of Chicago: nelsen1089@gmail.com

Elizabeth Connors, University of South Carolina: connors4@mailbox.sc.edu

Matthew Hayes, Rice University: matthew.hayes@rice.edu

 

DISTINGUISHED JUNIOR SCHOLAR AWARD. The APSA Political Psychology section gives Distinguished Junior Scholar Awards as grants to junior scholars (graduate students or those no more than seven years since receiving their Ph.D) to help fund their travel to the APSA meeting.

The nomination for this award should include a brief one-paragraph description about why the individual should receive the award along with an updated CV. Self-nominations are welcome. Please send the paragraph and CV to each committee member by April 15th.

Chryl Laird, University of Maryland: cnlaird@umd.edu

Mara Ostfeld, University of Michigan: mostfeld@umich.edu

Nic Dias, University of Pennsylvania: niccdias@sas.upenn.edu

Hazel Gaudet Erskine Career Achievement Award. The Career Achievement Award is awarded biennially to recognize a scholar whose lifetime scholarship and service to the profession has made an outstanding contribution to the field of political psychology.

This award is given out every other year and will not have a recipient in 2022. Check here for details for the award in 2023.