Welcome to EPOVB!

EPOVB is on Twitter!  –  EPOVB Award Winners

APSA’s organized section on Elections, Public Opinion, and Voting Behavior (EPOVB) promotes scholarly dialogue related to teaching and research on elections, electoral behavior, public opinion, voting turnout, and political participation, both within the United States and throughout the world.

EPOVB is one of the largest and most active sections in the American Political Science Association.  The section (APSA Section 32) is the union of two divisions: Elections and Voting Behavior (Division 36) and Public Opinion (Division 37).

In addition to organizing dozens of interesting panels and presentations at the annual APSA meetings, our awards recognize superior research in our field by advanced, emerging, and graduate student scholars. Our official journal, Political Behavior, publishes original research in the general fields of political behavior, public opinion, institutions, processes, and policies.

Become an EPOVB member!  When joining APSA or renewing your membership, or at any other time, consider joining EPVOB. Want to be even more involved? Reach out to any member of our section officers to express an interest in getting involved in the section’s organization, activities, and leadership.

Graduate students – we welcome your participation! Join the section at a discounted rate ($0!). Apply for travel awards from the section. And attend our business meeting and reception at the annual convention.

Section Bylaws – our section’s bylaws can be found here.

Call for New Editorial Team of Political Behavior (deadline February 1, 2022)

Funding opportunity for up to $15k for PhD students studying American political behavior 

EPOVB is on Twitter!

You can follow us @epovb and share news. We’d love to use social media to publicize work by our members and opportunities that are of interest.

Congratulations to EPOVB’s Award Winners!

We’re delighted to announce the winners of EPOVB’s Section Awards. Information about previous winners may be found here.

Philip E. Converse Book Award

The Philip E. Converse Book Award goes to Samara Klar and Yanna Krupnikov for their book, Independent Politics: How American Disdain for Parties Leads to Political Inaction. The Converse Award recognizes the author(s) of an outstanding book published at least five years ago.

Emerging Scholar Award

Noam Lupu (Vanderbilt) and Lauren Davenport (Stanford) are co-winners of our Emerging Scholar Award, which is presented to top scholars in the field who are within ten years of the Ph.D.

EPOVB Best Paper Award

The Best Paper Award recognizes the best paper delivered at one of the section’s panels at the previous year’s APSA. This year the award goes to Mathias Poertner (LSE) for his paper “Does Political Representation Increase Participation? Evidence from Party Candidate Lotteries in Mexico”

Best Article, Political Behavior

This year, the section’s Best Paper in Political Behavior Award is given to the authors of these two articles:

Bernhard, Rachel, and Sean Freeder. “The more you know: Voter heuristics and the information search.” Political Behavior 42, no. 2 (2020): 603-623.

Yadon, Nicole, and Mara C. Ostfeld. “Shades of Privilege: The Relationship Between Skin Color and Political Attitudes Among White Americans.” Political Behavior 42, no. 4 (2020): 1369-1392.

John Sullivan Graduate Student Paper Award

The John Sullivan Award, for the best paper presented by a graduate student at one of the section’s panels at the previous year’s APSA, goes to Mike Cowburn (Freie Universität Berlin) for his paper “Ideological Difference & Party Destabilization in Congressional Primary Contests”


Ann Crigler

Yusaku Horiuchi
Dartmouth College

Costas Panagopoulos

Northeastern University

Communications Director:
John B. Holbein
University of Virginia

Executive Council:
Michele Margolis, University of Pennsylvania
Alessandro Nai, University of Amsterdam
John Ryan, Stony Brook University

Bernard Fraga, Emory University

Anand Sohkey, Colorado University

Traci Burch, Northwestern University

Editors of Political Behavior:
Geoff Layman
Notre Dame University
Benjamin Radcliff
Notre Dame University