Political Behavior

Political Behavior, the EPOVB’s official section journal, publishes original research in the general fields of political behavior, institutions, processes, and policies. Coverage focuses on conventional and unconventional political behavior of individuals or small groups, and of large organizations that participate in the political process such as parties, interest groups, political action committees, governmental agencies, and mass media.

As an interdisciplinary journal, Political Behavior integrates a variety of analytical approaches across different levels of theoretical abstraction and empirical domain. The exploration includes economic perspectives in preference structuring and bargaining; psychological aspects of attitude, motivations and perceptions; sociological orientation of roles, group or class; or political stance in decision making, coalitions and influence.

Members who are current in their APSA and EPOVB section dues can access online content to Political Behavior by first logging into APSA and then visiting the Political Behavior website.

Print subscriptions are also available to section members for an additional $20 annually, payable to Springer. Call 1-800-SPRINGER (1-800-777-4643) or 1-212-460-1500. Tell the customer service rep that you are a member of the Elections, Public Opinion, and Voting Behavior section, and you want to subscribe to Political Behavior at the reduced membership rate.


David Peterson, Iowa State University

Editors Emeriti:

Richard Brody, Stanford University
Jon Hurwitz, University of Pittsburgh
Jeffrey Mondak, University of Illinois
Diana C. Mutz, University of Pennsylvania
Mark Peffley, University of Kentucky
Thomas Rudolph, University of Illinois 
Paul M. Sniderman, 
Stanford University    

Editorial Advisory Board:

Marisa Abrajano, University of California San Diego
T.K. Ahn, Seoul National University
Lonna Atkeson, University of New Mexico
Antoine Banks, University of Maryland
Matt Barreto, University of California Los Angeles
Amanda Bittner, Memorial University of Newfoundland
Lisa Blaydes, Stanford University
Regina Branton, University of North Texas
Traci Burch, Northwestern University
Patrick Fournier, University of Montreal
Claudine Gay, Harvard University
Kimberly Gross, George Washington University
Sunshine Hillygus, Duke University
Sara Hobolt, London School of Economics
Brad Jones, University of California Davis
Michael Jones-Correa, Cornell University
Cindy Kam, Vanderbilt University
Paul Kellstedt, Texas A&M University
Yanna Krupnikov, Stony Brook University
Dean Lacy, Dartmouth University
Jonathan Ladd, Georgetown University
Dimitri Landa, New York University
Suzanna Linn, Penn State University
Arthur Lupia, University of Michigan
Ellen Lust, Yale University
Cherie Maestas, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Melanie Manion, Duke University
Scott McClurg, Southern Illinois University
Corrine McConnaughy, George Washington University
Melissa Michelson, Menlo College
Joanne Miller, University of Minnesota
Jana Morgan, University of Tennessee
Alexander Pacek, Texas A&M University
Philip Paolino, University of North Texas
Mark Ramirez, Arizona State University
Jason Reifler, University of Exeter
Reuel Rogers, Northwestern University
John Barry Ryan, Stony Brook University
Kyle Saunders, Colorado State University
Darren Schreiber, University of Exeter
Michal Shamir, Tel Aviv University
John Sides, George Washington University
Stuart Soroka, University of Michigan
Laura Stephenson, University of Western Ontario
Daniel Stevens, University of Exeter
Elizabeth Theiss-Morse, University of Nebraska
James Tilley, Oxford University
Joshua Tucker, New York University
Vesla Weaver, Yale University
Ismail White, George Washington University
Jennifer Wolak, University of Colorado
Elizabeth Zechmeister, Vanderbilt University

Founding Editor:

Heinz Eulau, Stanford University, CA