2017 Awards and Committees

Ted Jelen Award 2016

This prize is awarded to the best article published in the section’s journal Politics and Religion. The winner of the award is selected by the journal’s editors.


Prof Paul A. Djupe
Denison University, USA

Prof Angelia R. Wilson
University of Manchester, UK

Kenneth D. Wald Best Graduate Student Paper Award

The Award will be given annually to a conference paper studying any aspect of religion and politics presented by a Ph.D. student in political science. The conference can be affiliated with any of the US-based political science associations or a conference affiliated with another association, such as the Society for the Scientific Study of Religion, the American Academy of Religion, the Middle East Studies Association, or the International Studies Association, as long as the paper was written by a student or students enrolled in a graduate program in political science. Papers written with faculty will not be considered. Papers presented at poster sessions are welcome. The award will be announced and presented at the annual APSA conference during the business meeting. The award committee is under no obligation to make an award if no submissions merit such recognition.

Deadline: 15 April 2017


Dr Matthew J. Nelson (Chair)
Reader in Politics
Department of Politics and International Relations
School of Oriental and African Studies
University of London, UK

Dr Jeremy Menchik
Assistant Professor of International Relations
Frederick S. Pardee School of Global Studies
Boston University, USA

Prof Ted G. Jelen
Department of Political Science
University of Nevada, USA

Dr David Buckley
Assistant Professor of Political Science
Paul Weber Endowed Chair in Politics, Science and Religion
University of Louisville, USA

The Weber Best Conference Paper Award recognizes the best paper dealing with religion and politics presented at the previous year’s APSA Annual Meeting. The paper should address a timely and relevant topic, within the discipline and beyond, in a theoretically innovative and methodologically thorough manner. Please submit nominations to the chair of the committee.

Deadline for nominations: 15 April 2017 – Self nominations welcome!

Prof Monica Duffy-Toft (Chair)
Professor of Government and Public Policy
Blavatnik School of Government
University of Oxford, UK

Dr David Siroky
Associate Professor of Political Science
School of Politics and Global Studies
Arizona State University, USA

Dr. Tanya B. Schwarz
Visiting Research Fellow
Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies
University of Notre Dame, USA

Dr Pazit Ben-Nun Bloom
Senior Lecturer
Political Science Department
Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel

Aaron Wildavsky Dissertation Award

Dissertations must have been defended in 2015 or 2016. Nominated dissertations need to be sent to all members of the committee by email with a short bio of the author by April 1st.  Self-nominations are accepted and encouraged.

The committee will look for and evaluate the following qualities in the submissions: Clearly defined, timely/relevant topic; solid and original theoretical grounding; rigorous / innovative methodology; significance / potential impact of the dissertation project.

If you have any questions about the award, please contact the committee chair, Nukhet Sandal.

Aaron Wildavsky Award Committee


Dr Nukhet Sandal (Chair)
Assistant Professor and Director of War and Peace Studies Program
Political Science
Ohio University, USA

Dr Ryan Claassen
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science
Kent State University, USA

Mona Oraby
2016-17 Jerome Hall Postdoctoral Fellow
Maurer School of Law
Indiana University, USA

Dr Gizem Arikan
Associate Professor
Department of International Relations
Yasar University
Izmir, Turkey

The Hubert Morken Award is given for the best publication dealing with religion and politics published during the last two years. The winner will have a clearly defined, relevant topic and contribute new insights to the understanding of religion and politics. The publication or book should be methodologically sound and develop innovative theory in accessible language.

Submissions should be submitted as soon as possible until March 15, 2017. Email Nandini Deo (ndd208@lehigh.edu) with any questions or nominations.

Deadline for nominations: 15 March 2017

Committee Members

Dr Nandini Deo (Chair)
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science
LeHigh University, USA

Prof Kevin den Dulk
Paul Henry Chair in Christianity and Politics
Calvin College, USA

Dr Benjamin Schewel
Associate Fellow
Institute for Advanced Studies in Culture
University of Virginia, USA

Dr Helge Arsheim
Postdoctoral Fellow
Faculty of Theology
University of Oslo, Norway

Distinguished Reviewer Awards

In order recognize the important work involved in the peer review process, the Section Journal, Politics and Religion, will honor five outstanding reviewers per year. Selected by the Journal editor or editorial team, honorees will be recognized for their dedication at the annual business meeting and each will receive a $50 gift certificate from Cambridge University Press.