2018 Hubert Morken Best Book Award – Call for Nominations

Dear APSA Religion and Politics Section Members,

We would like to invite nominations for APSA’s 2018 Hubert Morken Best Book Award.  The Hubert Morken Award is given for the best book dealing with religion and politics published during the last two years. The criteria for the award include the originality of the argument presented, quality of the research, innovative methods, readability of the text and the policy or practical implications of the scholarship.

To be eligible for the award, books must have been published in 2016 or 2017. The nomination should include a brief statement (250-750 words) summarizing the book’s contributions and why it is nominated for the award. This statement can be sent by email. As part of the nomination, publishers should send a copy of the nominated book to EACH member of the awards committee at the addresses below, making sure that the books arrive by the nomination deadline, March 15th, the latest.

Self nominations are welcome.

If you have any questions, please contact the committee chair, Nukhet A. Sandal (sandal@ohio.edu).

Committee Members Contact Information

Nukhet A. Sandal
Associate Professor
Ohio University
Department of Political Science
Bentley Annex 259
Athens OH 45701

Jim Guth
Department of Politics and International Affairs
111T Johns Hall
Furman University
Greenville SC 29613

Ani Sarkissian
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science
Michigan State University
368 Farm Lane, S303
East Lansing, MI 48824

Amy Erica Smith
Assistant Professor
Department of Political Science
Iowa State University
503 Ross Hall
Ames, IA 50011