2022 Section Award Winners

WGPRS Best Paper Award Winners:

Rebekka Friedman, King’s College London and Hanna Ketola, King’s College London “Violations of the Heart: Parental Harm in Contexts of Mass Violence”

The Best Paper Award is given for the best paper on women, gender, and politics at the previous year’s APSA conference. Any individual can nominate a paper for the award, including self-nominations. In addition, all papers presented in the Women and Politics Research Section and posted to the APSA conference paper website will be considered nominated. Application deadline: March 1; award amount $500.

WGPRS Best Paper Award Committee 2022:

WGPRS Best Dissertation Award Winners:

Best Dissertation Winner: Elizabeth Corredor, Rutgers University: Gender Justice, Resistance, and the Politics of Peace in Colombia: A Gender Analysis of Colombia’s 2010-2016 Peace Negotiations and Final Agreement

Best Dissertation Honorable Mention: Tutku Ayhan Ergin, University of Central Florida: Trauma, Resilience, and Empowerment: Post-Genocide Experiences of Yezidi Women

The Best Dissertation Award is given for the best dissertation on women and politics completed and successfully defended in the previous calendar year. Nomination deadline: March 1; award amount $500.

WGPRS Best Dissertation Award Committee 2022:

The Okin-Young Award in Feminist Political Theory Winners:

Kimberly Hutchings, Queen Mary University of London, and Patricia Owens, Oxford University: “Women Thinkers and the Canon of International Thought: Recovery, Rejection, and Reconstitution”

The Okin-Young Award in Feminist Political Theory is jointly given by the Women, Gender, and Politics Research Section, Foundations of Political Theory, and the Women’s Caucus for Political Science. The award commemorates the scholarly, mentoring, and professional contributions of Susan Moller Okin and Iris Marion Young to the development of the field of feminist political theory. This annual award recognizes the best paper on feminist theory published in an English language academic journal during the previous calendar year. Papers are considered by self-nomination or nomination by other individuals. Nominations are due no later than 15 February and the Award decision is announced by 1 June. Award amount: $750.

The Okin-Young Award in Feminist Political Theory Committee 2022:

Best Paper on Intersectionality Award  (WGPRS & REP) Winner:

Margaret Brower, Harvard University: “Intersectional Advocacy: Reconfiguring the Violence Against Women Act”

Best Paper on Intersectionality, to be co-sponsored with the Race, Ethnicity, and Politics Section. This award is for the best paper addressing intersectionality presented at the previous year’s annual meeting. The scope of the award recognizes the roots of intersectional analysis in a critical analysis of the lived experiences of women of color, while also allowing for a more expansive reading of identity politics that takes into account multiple subjectivities and experiences, both within and outside the United States.

Nomination Instructions: Self-nominations and nominations by others are welcome. To be considered for this award, a copy of the article should be sent electronically. Nomination deadline: March 1; award amount $500.

Best Paper on Intersectionality Award Committee 2022:

The WGPRS Public Engagement Award Winner

Julieta Suárez-Cao, Instituto de Ciencia Política at the Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile: For her contributions to Chile’s electoral system and the status of women in the profession in Chile

Public engagement award: An annual award to recognize the exemplary public-facing work of political scientists in the field of Women, Gender, and Politics. This award seeks to recognize significant efforts to serve a local community/do outreach on women, gender and politics, or efforts to diffuse knowledge beyond the classroom, and to make a social/political difference. While all faculty are eligible for this award, we especially welcome nominations of permanent and non-permanent faculty with teaching loads of 3-3 and above. Nominations by oneself or others should be made to the committee appointed by the Women, Gender, and Politics section by 1 March in the year the award will be made; award amount $500.

The WGPRS Public Engagement Award Committee 2022:

Politics & Gender 2021 Best Article Award 

This year the award is shared by

Melissa Deckman, Washington College, Chestertown, and Erin Cassese, University of Delaware, Newark: “Gendered Nationalism and the 2016 US Presidential Election: How Party, Class, and Beliefs about Masculinity Shaped Voting Behavior.” Politics & Gender, 17(2), 277-300.


Marie E. Berry, University of Denver; Yolande Bouke, Queen’s University, and Marilyn Muthoni Kamuru, Independent Consultant:  “Implementing Inclusion: Gender Quotas, Inequality, and Backlash in Kenya.” Politics & Gender, 17(4), 640-664.

Best article published in Politics & Gender: An annual award to recognize the best article published in our section journal, Politics & Gender, during the previous year. Nominations will not be sought for this award; the award will be by a committee chosen by the editors of the journal. Award amount $500.

Politics & Gender Best Article Award Committee 2022:

  • Editorial Board of Politics & Gender