Awards

In 2022, section awards will be presented at the State Politics & Policy Conference at Florida State University.

To learn more about any award listed, contact the committee chair for the award.

All section 22. State Politics and Policy awards to-date »

Best Journal Article Award

The award recognizes the best journal article on U.S. state politics or policy published during the previous calendar year in any peer-reviewed journal. (Book reviews, review essays, and chapters published in edited volumes are not eligible).

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: February 11, 2022

Award Committee

Rene R. Rocha (chair) University of Iowa rene-rocha@uiowa.edu
Laura Bucci Saint Joseph’s University lauracbucci@gmail.com
Timothy H. Callaghan Texas A&M University callaghan@tamu.edu

Career Achievement Award

The Career Achievement Award given annually to a political scientist who has made a significant lifetime contribution to the study of politics and public policies in the American states.

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: February 11, 2022

Award Committee

Nathaniel Birkhead (chair) Kansas State University  birkhead@ksu.edu
Julia Payson New York University julia.payson@nyu.edu
Zoe Nemerever Texas Tech University zoenemerever@gmail.com
 

Emerging Scholar Award

This annual award is given to the top scholar in the field of state politics and policy who is within 10 years of earning a PhD. 

Deadline for nominations: February 11, 2022

Award Committee

Eric Gonzalez Juenke (chair) Michigan State University juenke@msu.edu
Jeff Yates Binghamton University jyates@binghamton.edu
Adam Chamberlain Coastal Carolina University achamber@coastal.edu

Christopher Z. Mooney Best Dissertation Prize

This award is given for the best dissertation in American state politics and policy completed during the previous calendar year. The winner receives a plaque and $1000.

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: February 11, 2022

Award Committee

Adam Newmark (chair) Appalachian State University newmarkaj@appstate.edu
Scott LaCombe Smith College slacombe@smith.edu
JoyAnna Hopper University of Scranton joyanna.hopper@scranton.edu
 

Mac Jewell Enduring Contribution Book Award

To be awarded every three years to a political science book on the subject of U.S. state politics or policy published at least 10 years prior to the award being bestowed that stands as an enduring contribution to the literature. Such books would be those classic works frequently assigned in graduate seminars, typically found on the bookshelves of state politics scholars, and that have been crucial in setting the direction of scholarship the field since their publication.

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: This recognition will next be awarded in 2023.

 

State Politics and Policy Quarterly (SPPQ) Best Paper Award

The State Politics and Policy Award is given for the best paper on state politics and policy presented at any professional meeting in the previous calendar year.

The Committee may designate separate awards for papers presented by graduate students with no faculty authorships and for papers with solely faculty or faculty and graduate student participation. Graduate student winners will receive a plaque and $100 and faculty winners will receive a plaque. Please send nominations to the Award Committee members by the posted deadline.

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: February 11, 2022

Award Committee

Christopher Cooper (chair) Western Carolina University ccooper@email.wcu.edu
Jordan Butcher Arkansas State University jbutcher@astate.edu
Tessa Provins University of Pittsburgh kts33@pitt.edu
 

Virginia Gray Book Award

To be awarded annually to the best political science book published on the subject of U.S. state politics or policy in the preceding three calendar years. Thus, books would be eligible to be considered for the award for three years. E.g., for the 2022 award, books with a copyright of 2019, 2020, and 2021 would be eligible for nomination.

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: February 11, 2022

Award Committee

Damon Cann (chair) Utah State University damon.cann@usu.edu
Laine P. Shay Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi Laine.Shay@tamucc.edu
Hye Young You New York University

hyou@nyu.edu

 

Carsey Awards

These awards are given to support graduate student participation in the 2022 State Politics and Policy Conference.

Previous recipients »

Award Committee

Robert J. McGrath (chair) George Mason University rmcgrat2@gmu.edu
Desmond Wallace Alfred University wallaced@alfred.edu
Regina Wagner University of Alabama  rlwagner1@ua.edu