Wildavsky Award Recipients

Aaron Wildavsky Enduring Contribution Award (1989-2011)
For a book or article published in the last ten to twenty years that continues to influence the study of public policy.

2011 Paul Pierson, University of California, Berkeley
“Increasing Returns, Path Dependence, and the Study of Politics,” American Political Science Review 94(2) (June 2000): 251-267.

2010 Paul A. Sabatier, University of California, Davis
Hank C. Jenkins-Smith, University of Oklahoma
Policy Change and Learning: An Advocacy Coalition Approach
(Westview Press 1993)

2009 Peter A. Hall, University of Washington
Governing the Economy: the Politics of State Intervention in Britain and France
(Oxford University Press 1986)

2008 Annie L. Schneider and Helen Ingram, University of Arizona
Policy Design for Democracy (University Press of Kansas, 1997)

2006 Charles E. Lindblom, Yale University Institute
Politics and Markets: The World’s Political Economic Systems (Basic Books, 1977)

2005 Gosta Epsing-Anderson, European University Institute
The Three Worlds of Welfare Capitalism (Princeton University Press, 1990)

2004 James G. March, Stanford University
Johan P. Olsen, ARENA, University of Oslo
Rediscovering Institutions: The Organizational Basis of Politics (The Free Press, 1989)

2003 Martha Derthick, University of Virginia
Paul J. Quirk, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
The Politics of Deregulation (Brookings Institution, 1985)

2002 Deborah Stone, Dartmouth College
Policy Paradox: The Art of Political Decision-Making (W.W. Norton, 1988)

2001 Frank Baumgartner, Penn State University
Bryan D. Jones, University of Washington
Agendas and Instability in American Politics (University of Chicago Press, 1993)

2000 Elinor Ostrom, Indiana University
Governing the Commons: The Evolution of Institutions for Collective Action (Cambridge University Press, 1990)

1999 Michael Lipsky, Ford Foundation
Street-Level Bureaucracy (Russell Sage, 1980)

1998 Roger W. Cobb, Brown University
Charles D. Elder, Wayne State University
Participation in American Politics: The Dynamics of Agenda Building (Johns Hopkins University Press, 1983)

1997 Daniel Mazmanian, University of Michigan
Paul Sabatier, University of California, Davis
Implementation and Public Policy (University Press of America)

1996 James Q. Wilson, University of California Los Angeles
The Politics of Regulation (Basic Books, 1980)

1994 John W. Kingdon, University of Michigan
Agendas, Alternatives, and Public Policy

1989 David T. Ellwood, Harvard University
Poor Support (Basic Books)