The Migration and Citizenship Section welcomes nominations and self-nominations for awards for (1) Best Book; (2) Best Article; (3) Best Dissertation; and, (4) Best Paper presented at APSA the preceding year (2018). Section membership is required to make a nomination (with the exception of the Best Dissertation Prize), but section membership is not required for consideration (though always encouraged!).

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting section business meeting. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair of the award.

Book Award
Award for best book on migration and/or citizenship published in the previous year (i.e., copyright and printed in 2018). Publishers or other nominators should send one hard copy of a book published (i.e., printed; either paperback or hardback) in 2018 to each committee member by March 15, 2019. Edited volumes are not eligible for the book award.

Best Book Award Selection Committee 2019:

Robert Ford (Chair)
Department of Politics
The School of Social Sciences
4th Floor, Arthur Lewis Building
The University of Manchester
Oxford Road
M13 9PL
United Kingdom

Oxana Shevel
Tufts University
Dept. of Political Science
Packard Hall
Medford, MA 02155

Rebecca Hamlin
University of Massachusetts
Dept. of Political Science
Thompson Hall 502
200 Hicks Way
Amherst, MA 01003

Best Article Award
Award for best article on migration and/or citizenship published (i.e., printed) in the previous calendar year. Send one electronic copy of an article published (i.e., printed) in 2018 to each committee member by March 15, 2019.

Best Article Award Selection Committee 2019:

Margaret Peters (Chair)
University of California, Los Angeles

Martin Heisler
University of Maryland, College Park

Dara Strolovitch
Princeton University

Dissertation Award
Award for best dissertation on migration and/or citizenship accepted in the previous calendar year. Send one electronic copy of a dissertation accepted in 2018 AND a dissertation abstract to each committee member. Nominees should also request their advisor to send an electronic letter of recommendation to the award committee chair. All materials are due March 15, 2019.

Best Dissertation Award Selection Committee 2019:

Jonathan Laurence (Chair)
Boston College

Noora Lori
Boston University

Myra Waterbury
Ohio University

Paper Award
Award for best paper on migration and/or citizenship presented at the 2018 APSA Annual Meeting in Boston (either as part of a panel or poster session). Send one electronic copy of a paper presented at APSA 2018 to each committee member by March 15, 2019.

Best Paper Award Selection Committee 2019:

Alex Street (Chair)
Carroll College

Allan Colbern
Arizona State University

Floris Peters
Maastricht University


(For a list of previous winners, click here)