Awards

The Migration and Citizenship Section welcomes nominations and self-nominations for awards for (1) Best Book; (2) Best Article; (3) Best Dissertation; and, (4) Best Paper presented by a graduate student at APSA the preceding year (2019). Section membership is required to make a nomination (with the exception of the Best Dissertation Prize), but section membership is not required for consideration (though always encouraged!).

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting section business meeting. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair of the award.

Listing of previous section award winners, 2013-2020.

Book Award
Award for best book on migration and/or citizenship published in the previous year (i.e., copyright and printed in 2020). Publishers or other nominators should send one hard copy of a book published (i.e., printed; either paperback or hardback) in 2020 to each committee member by March 15, 2021. Edited volumes are not eligible for the book award.

Best Book Award Selection Committee 2021:

Ines Valdez (Chair), valdez.39@osu.edu

Eisenacher Str. 45, 10823 Berlin, Germany

Janice Fine, jrfine@smlr.rutgers.edu

315 Nassau St.
Princeton, NJ 08540

Loren Landau, loren@migration.org.za

University of Oxford
Department of International Development
Queen Elizabeth House, 30.28
3 Mansfield Road
Oxford OX1 3TB
United Kingdom

Best Article Award
Award for best article on migration and/or citizenship published (i.e., printed) in the previous calendar year. Send one electronic copy of an article published (i.e., printed) in 2020 to each committee member by March 15, 2021.

Best Article Award Selection Committee 2021:

Kimberly Morgan (chair), George Washington University, kjmorgan@gwu.edu

Guy Grossman, University of Pennsylvania, ggros@sas.upenn.edu

Agustín Goenaga Orrego, Lund University, agustin.goenaga@svet.lu.se

Dissertation Award
Award for best dissertation on migration and/or citizenship accepted in the previous calendar year. Send one electronic copy of a dissertation accepted in 2020 AND a dissertation abstract to each committee member. Nominees should also request their advisor to send an electronic letter of recommendation to the award committee chair. All materials are due March 15, 2021.

Best Dissertation Award Selection Committee 2021:

Lina Newton (chair) Hunter College, CUNY lnewton@hunter.cuny.edu
Colin Brown Northeastern University colin.brown@northeastern.edu
Beth Elise Whitaker Univeristy of North Carolina, Charlotte bwhitaker@uncc.edu

Paper Award
Award for best paper (either as part of a panel or poster session) on migration and/or citizenship presented by a graduate student at the 2020 APSA Annual Meeting (held virtually due to COVID). Send one electronic copy of a paper presented at APSA 2020 to each committee member by March 15, 2021.

Best Paper Award Selection Committee 2021:

Christine Brenner (chair) University of Massachusetts, Boston christine.brenner@umb.edu
Barbara Buckinx Princeton University bbuckinx@princeton.edu
James Hollifield Southern Methodist University jhollifi@smu.edu