Awards

The Migration and Citizenship Section welcomes nominations and self-nominations for awards for (1) Best Book; (2) Best Article; (3) Best Dissertation; and, (4) Best Paper presented by a graduate student at APSA the preceding year (2019). Section membership is required to make a nomination (with the exception of the Best Dissertation Prize), but section membership is not required for consideration (though always encouraged!).

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting section business meeting. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair of the award.

Book Award
Award for best book on migration and/or citizenship published in the previous year (i.e., copyright and printed in 2019). Publishers or other nominators should send one hard copy of a book published (i.e., printed; either paperback or hardback) in 2019 to each committee member by March 13, 2020. Edited volumes are not eligible for the book award.

Best Book Award Selection Committee 2020:
Matthew Longo
Leiden University
Institute of Political Science
Turfmarkt 99
2511 DP The Hague
The Netherlands
m.b.longo@fsw.leidenuniv.nl

Jeffrey Pugh
Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security and Global Governance
University of Massachusetts Boston
04-128a Wheatley Hall
100 Morrissey Blvd
Boston, MA 02125
Jeffrey.pugh@umb.edu

Kaija Schilde
Associate Professor
Pardee School of Global Studies
Boston University
156 Bay State Road
Boston, MA 02215
kschilde@bu.edu

Best Article Award
Award for best article on migration and/or citizenship published (i.e., printed) in the previous calendar year. Send one electronic copy of an article published (i.e., printed) in 2019 to each committee member by March 13, 2020.

Best Article Award Selection Committee 2020:
Hannah Alarian
University of Florida
halarian@ufl.edu

Chris Haynes
University of New Haven
chaynes@newhaven.edu

Alexander Kustov
Yale University
alexander.kustov@yale.edu

Dissertation Award
Award for best dissertation on migration and/or citizenship accepted in the previous calendar year. Send one electronic copy of a dissertation accepted in 2019 AND a dissertation abstract to each committee member. Nominees should also request their advisor to send an electronic letter of recommendation to the award committee chair. All materials are due March 13, 2020.

Best Dissertation Award Selection Committee 2020:
Lamis Abdelaaty
Syracuse University
labdelaa@maxwell.syr.edu

Jay McCann
Purdue University
mccannj@purdue.edu

Adrian Shin
University of Colorado at Boulder
adrian.shin@colorado.edu

Paper Award
Award for best paper on migration and/or citizenship presented by a graduate student at the 2019 APSA Annual Meeting in Washington, DC (either as part of a panel or poster session). Send one electronic copy of a paper presented at APSA 2019 to each committee member by March 13, 2020.

Best Paper Award Selection Committee 2020:
Christine Brenner
University of Massachusetts, Boston
christine.brenner@umb.edu

Barbara Buckinx
Princeton University
bbuckinx@princeton.edu

James Hollifield
Southern Methodist University
jhollifi@smu.edu

(For a list of previous winners, click here)