Winners of the section’s annual awards received plaques at the business meeting on August 31, 2018.

The Leon Epstein Outstanding Book Award recognizes a book published in the last two calendar years that made an outstanding contribution to research and scholarship on political organizations and parties. The 2018 winners are Matt Grossmann and David Hopkins for Asymmetric Politics: Ideological Republicans and Group Interest Democrats, published in 2016 by Oxford University Press.

The award committee comprised Karen Beckwith as chair, working with Tom Holyoke and Rory Truex.

David Hopkins, Matt Grossmann, and Karen Beckwith
Ann-Kristin Kölln and Lily Mason

The Emerging Scholar Award recognizes someone at an early stage in their career with exceptional promise.  This year’s award goes to Ann-Kristin Kölln of Aarhus University. The committee consisted of Michael Heaney as chair, Lily Mason, and Jan Box-Steffensmeier.

The committee were impressed with the quality and breadth of Ann-Kristin’s publications on political parties, especially those that are prominent in Europe. In only a few years, she has become a leader in this field. We expect her to be an important contributor to the study of political organizations and parties throughout her career.

The Samuel Eldersveld Career Achievement Award recognizes a scholar whose lifetime professional work has made an outstanding contribution to the field. The 2018 committee comprised Christina Wolbrecht as chair, Mat McCubbins, and Ellie Powell. The 2018 winner is Morris (Mo) Fiorina of Stanford University.

Mo Fiorina and Christina Wolbrecht

Morris Fiorina’s contributions to the study of partisanship and party activity are numerous and wide-ranging. His early work, Retrospective Voting in American National Elections, challenged the orthodoxy about American voting with a radical new approach to party identification. Fiorina’s considerable body of work on Congress, including Congress: Keystone of the Washington Establishmentand The Personal Vote, demonstrated (among many other things) how politicians insulate themselves from partisan tides. He contributed the foundational work on the causes and consequences of divided government (Divided Government). Fiorina’s more recent work on the central party puzzle of our time—partisan polarization—offers a unique perspective that has had a significant impact on debate in the field (Culture War? The Myth of Polarized Americaand Disconnect: The Breakdown in Representation in American Politics). In addition his many books, Fiorina is the author of a large number of influential articles on topics related to partisanship in American electoral politics. Fiorina’s work is methodologically diverse, combining statistical, formal, and qualitative approaches. He has been a leader in the field, chairing the American National Election Studies Board of Overseers, holding multiple positions of leadership in the discipline, and serving on the editorial board of a dozen leading journals. Most importantly, Fiorina’s research is consistently original and provocative in a way that shapes the trajectory of the field of American politics and our understanding of American parties and partisanship in particular.

The Jack Walker Award recognizes an article published in the last two calendar years that makes an outstanding contribution to research and scholarship on political organizations and parties. The 2018 committee was chaired by Heath Brown, along with Michael Franz and Diana Dwyre. The 2018 winners are Jonathan Polk and Ann-Kristin Kölln for “Electoral infedelity: Why party members cast defecting votes,” published in the European Journal Of Political Research. The committee had many excellent papers to choose from, but theirs stood out for its important contribution to the field of political organizations and parties. The committee said they all learned a lot from it.

Ann-Kristin Kölln and Heath Brown
Ann-Kristin Kölln and Heath Brown

Jonathan Polk

The APSA POP Best Paper Award for 2018 will be given at the 2019 meeting. The committee consists of Tom Holyoke, Diana Dwyre, and Jesse Crosson.