Award Committees

2021-2022 Awards Committees, Presidents and Executive Politics Section

Award Name: Richard E. Neustadt Award

Award Description: The Richard E. Neustadt Award will be given for the best book on executive politics published during 2021.

Nomination Deadline: February 1, 2022

Award Committee:

Dan Ponder (Chair), Drury University, deponder@drury.edu

Ammon Cavari, IDC Herzliya/University of Wisconsin-Madison,  cavari@idc.ac.il

Matt Miles, BYU-Idaho, milesma@byui.edu

Anne Pluta, Rowan University, pluta@rowan.edu

Colleen Shogan, White House Historical Association, cshogun@whha.org

Rebecca Thorpe, University of Washington, bthorpe@uw.edu

Award Name: George C. Edwards III Dissertation Award

Award Description: The George C. Edwards III Dissertation Award is given for the best dissertation in presidency research completed and accepted during the previous two calendar years (January 1, 2020 – December 31, 2021).  The recipient will receive a $250 award.

Nomination Deadline: February 1, 2022

 Award Committee: 

Matthew Eshbaugh-Soha (Chair), University of North Texas, Matthew.Eshbaugh.Soha@unt.edu

John Dearborn, Vanderbilt University, john.a.dearborn@vanderbilt.edu

Nancy Kassop, SUNY-New Paltz, kassopn@newpaltz.edu

Jose D. Villalobos, University of Texas-El Paso, jdvillalobos@utep.edu

Award Name: Founders Award for Best Graduate Student Paper

Award Description: The Founders Award honoring David Naveh will be given for the best paper on executive politics presented by a Graduate Student at either the preceding year’s APSA annual meeting or at any of the regional meetings in 2020 or 2021. 

 Nomination Deadline: February 1, 2022

Award Committee: 

Andy Rudalevige (Chair), Bowdoin College, arudalev@bowdoin.edu

Brandon Doherty, U.S. Naval Academy, doherty@usna.edu

Alison Howard, Dominican University of California, alison.howard@dominican.edu

Mary Stuckey, Pennsylvania State University, mes519@psu.edu

 Award Name: Founders Best Paper Award

Award Description: The Founders Award honoring Bert Rockman will be given for the best paper on executive politics authored by a PhD – holding scholar at the previous year’s (2021) APSA annual meeting.

 Nomination Deadline: February 1, 2022

 Award Committee:

Kevin Baron (Chair), Austin Peay State University, baronkm@apsu.edu

Meena Bose, Hofstra University, meena.bose@hofstra.edu

Yu Ouyang, Purdue University, Northwest, yuouyang@pnw.edu

Jon Rogowski, University of Chicago, jrogowski@uchicago.edu

Award Name: The Legacy Award

Award Description: The Legacy Award will be given to a living author for a book, essay, or article, published at least 10 years prior to the award year that has made a continuing contribution to the intellectual development of the fields of presidency and executive politics. Letters of nominations should provide a rationale for the work receiving the award.

 Nomination Deadline: February 1, 2022

 Award Committee:

Julia Azari (Chair), Marquette University, julia.azari@marquette.edu

William Adler, Northeastern Illinois University, w-adler@neiu.edu

Mary McHugh, Merrimack University, MaryAnn.McHugh@merrimack.edu

Zim Nwokora, Deakin University, Melbourne Campus, z.nwokora@deakin.edu.au