Award Committees

2021-2022 Awards Committees, Presidents and Executive Politics Section

Award Name: Richard E. Neustadt Award

Award Description: The Richard E. Neustadt Award will be given for the best book on executive politics published during 2021.

Nomination Deadline: February 1, 2022

Award Committee:

Dan Ponder (Chair), Drury University,

Ammon Cavari, IDC Herzliya/University of Wisconsin-Madison,

Matt Miles, BYU-Idaho,

Anne Pluta, Rowan University,

Colleen Shogan, White House Historical Association,

Rebecca Thorpe, University of Washington,

Award Name: George C. Edwards III Dissertation Award

Award Description: The George C. Edwards III Dissertation Award is given for the best dissertation in presidency research completed and accepted during the previous two calendar years (January 1, 2020 – December 31, 2021).  The recipient will receive a $250 award.

Nomination Deadline: February 1, 2022

 Award Committee: 

Matthew Eshbaugh-Soha (Chair), University of North Texas,

John Dearborn, Vanderbilt University,

Nancy Kassop, SUNY-New Paltz,

Jose D. Villalobos, University of Texas-El Paso,

Award Name: Founders Award for Best Graduate Student Paper

Award Description: The Founders Award honoring David Naveh will be given for the best paper on executive politics presented by a Graduate Student at either the preceding year’s APSA annual meeting or at any of the regional meetings in 2020 or 2021. 

 Nomination Deadline: February 1, 2022

Award Committee: 

Andy Rudalevige (Chair), Bowdoin College,

Brandon Doherty, U.S. Naval Academy,

Alison Howard, Dominican University of California,

Mary Stuckey, Pennsylvania State University,

 Award Name: Founders Best Paper Award

Award Description: The Founders Award honoring Bert Rockman will be given for the best paper on executive politics authored by a PhD – holding scholar at the previous year’s (2021) APSA annual meeting.

 Nomination Deadline: February 1, 2022

 Award Committee:

Kevin Baron (Chair), Austin Peay State University,

Meena Bose, Hofstra University,

Yu Ouyang, Purdue University, Northwest,

Jon Rogowski, University of Chicago,

Award Name: The Legacy Award

Award Description: The Legacy Award will be given to a living author for a book, essay, or article, published at least 10 years prior to the award year that has made a continuing contribution to the intellectual development of the fields of presidency and executive politics. Letters of nominations should provide a rationale for the work receiving the award.

 Nomination Deadline: February 1, 2022

 Award Committee:

Julia Azari (Chair), Marquette University,

William Adler, Northeastern Illinois University,

Mary McHugh, Merrimack University,

Zim Nwokora, Deakin University, Melbourne Campus,