Category Archives: Aaron Wildavsky Dissertation Award

Aaron Wildavsky Award – 2018 – Call for Nominations

From the Chair:

The Aaron Wildavsky Award recognizes the best dissertation in the field of religion and politics. Eligible dissertations have been defended in the last two years, and should make a distinctive contribution to the study of religion and politics, broadly understood. Please submit nominations to the chair of the committee – self-nominations are welcome!

Submission deadline: April 15, 2018.

Committee Members:

Dr. Daniel Bennett (chair), John Brown University,

Dr. Jonathan Agensky, Ohio University,

Dr. Michelle Margolis, University of Pennsylvania,

Aaron Wildavsky Dissertation Award – Nominations Invited – Deadline April 1st, 2017

The Religion & Politics Section invites nominations for the Aaron Wildavsky Dissertation Award. 

Dissertations must have been defended in 2015 or 2016. Nominated dissertations need to be sent to all members of the committee by email with a short bio of the author by April 1st.  Self-nominations are accepted and encouraged.

The committee will look for and evaluate the following qualities in the submissions: Clearly defined, timely/relevant topic; solid and original theoretical grounding; rigorous / innovative methodology; significance / potential impact of the dissertation project.

If you have any questions about the award, please contact the committee chair, Nukhet Sandal.

Aaron Wildavsky Award Committee


Dr Nukhet Sandal (Chair)
Assistant Professor and Director of War and Peace Studies Program
Political Science
Ohio University, USA

Dr Ryan Claassen
Associate Professor
Department of Political Science
Kent State University, USA

Mona Oraby
2016-17 Jerome Hall Postdoctoral Fellow
Maurer School of Law
Indiana University, USA

Dr Gizem Arikan
Associate Professor
Department of International Relations
Yasar University
Izmir, Turkey

From the Chair: 2016 Award Committees

Dear Religion and Politics Section Members:

I would like to invite all section members to become a member of our award committees for 2016 awards – the Aaron Wildavsky Dissertation Award and the Best Paper Award (descriptions below). These awards not only recognize the cutting-edge work being done in the field but actively shape the field and the careers of both emerging and established scholars.

Please email me at to express your interest. Committees will be convened in December and awards will be determined in June and presented at the 2016 meeting in Philadelphia. If you cannot commit to serving this year, please make a note to nominate your best dissertators and paper presenters later this year.

The Best Paper Award recognizes the best paper dealing with religion and politics presented at the previous years APSA Annual Meeting.

The Aaron Wildavsky Award recognizes the best dissertation on religion and politics successfully defended within the last two years.

Thank you,

Elizabeth Shakman Hurd
Chair, APSA Religion and Politics Section
Department of Political Science
Northwestern University

New – “Section Awards” Page on Section Site

For information about, and especially to submit nominations for, the three Section Awards, please see the Section’s New! page: Section Awards.

The new page is permanent and can always be reached by clicking the “Section Awards” tab on the top menu above.

Reminder: Deadline for all nominations is March 1, 2015.