Letter from the Chair (October 6, 2014)

Dear Section Members:

Two important announcements from your Section Chair.

First: the Religion and Politics section is now on Twitter! Please spread the word and follow us @apsa_relpol

You can follow the twitter feed on our section website: http://www.apsa-section-religion-and-politics.org/home.html

Second: I would like to invite all section members to become a member of our award committees for 2015 awards – the Aaron Wildavsky Dissertation Award, the Best Paper Award, and the Best Publication Award (descriptions below). These awards not only recognise the cutting-edge work being done in the field but actively shape the field and the careers of both emerging and established scholars.

Please email me at eshurd@northwestern.edu to express your interest. Committees will be convened in December and awards will be determined in June and presented at the 2015 meeting. If you can't commit to serving this year, please make a note to nominate your best dissertators, paper presenters, and publications later this year.

The Best Paper Award recognizes the best paper dealing with religion and politics presented at the previous years APSA Annual Meeting.

The Aaron Wildavsky Award recognizes the best dissertation on religion and politics successfully defended within the last two years.

The Hubert Morken Best Book Award is given for the best book dealing with religion and politics published during the last two years (2012-2014). The next Hubert Morken Best Book Award will be presented at the 2015 APSA meeting.

Thank you,

Elizabeth Shakman Hurd
Chair, APSA Religion and Politics Section
Department of Political Science
Northwestern University

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.