Barbara Sinclair Legacy Award

The Barbara Sinclair Legacy Award is new LSS award designed to honor the work of a scholar or set of scholars who have contributed a lifetime of significant scholarship to the study of legislative politics. In the tradition of Professor Sinclair’s body of work, recipients of this award will have focused on individual legislative behavior, institutional rules, or the role of party in shaping legislative politics.  This award is also intended to recognize scholars who employ a range of methods in their research.

Nomination can be made by any member of the Legislative Studies Section;  nomination letters and a list of the candidate’s publications are due by March 1, 2022.

2022 Selection Committee:

David Canon (Chair), University of Wisconsin, Madison
Stella Rouse, University of Maryland, College Park
Leslie Schwindt-Bayer, Rice University

2021 Winner:  Kenneth Shepsle, Harvard University

2021 Selection Committee:

Wendy Schiller (Chair), Brown University
Michelle Taylor-Robinson, Texas A&M University
Craig Volden, University of Virginia

2020 Winner:  Keith Krehbiel, Stanford University

2020 Selection Committee:

Gregory J. Wawro (Chair), Columbia University
Diana Evans, Trinity College
Scott H. Ainsworth University of Georgia

2019 Winners

John Aldrich, Duke University and David W. Rohde, Duke University

Selection Committee:

Tracy Sulkin (Chair), University of Illinois
John Wilkerson, University of Washington
Nate Monroe, University of California, Merced

2018 Winner

David Mayhew, Yale University

Selection Committee:

Gregory Koger (Chair), University of Miami
Sarah Binder, George Washington University and the Brookings Institute
Lynda Powell, University of Rochester