Jewell-Loewenberg Prize

The Jewell-Loewenberg Award for the best article in Legislative Studies Quarterly in the previous year

2020 Selection Committee: Adam Zelizer, Harris School of Public Policy at the University of Chicago, chair (; Jennifer Piscopo, Occidental College (; Stella Rouse, University of Maryland (

2019 Winner: Adam Zelizer, Harris School of Public Policy at The University of Chicago for “How Responsive are Legislators to Policy Information: Evidence from a Field Experiment in a State Legislature,” published in Legislative Studies Quarterly 2018 Vol. 43, Issue 4.

2019 Selection Committee:

Sarah Anzia (Co-Chair), University of California, Berkeley
Terry Moe (Co-Chair), Stanford University
Jennifer Garcia, Oberlin College


2018 Winner

Sarah Anzia, University of California at Berkeley, and Terry M. Moe, Stanford University for “Polarization and Policy: The Politics of Public-Sector Pensions,” published in Legislative Studies Quarterly 2017 Vol. 42, Issue 1.

Selection Committee:

Doug Ahler, Florida State University
Sharece Thrower, Vanderbilt University
Gisela Sin, University of Illinois

2017 Winner

Douglas Ahler (University of California, Berkeley), Jack Citrin (University of California, Berkeley), and Gabriel Lenz (University of California, Berkeley) for “Do Open Primaries Improve Representation? An Experimental Test of California’s 2012 Top-Two Primary” (LSQ, 2016).

Selection committee:

Anand Edward Sokhey, University of Colorado at Boulder
Jeff Harden, University of Notre Dame
Josh Ryan, Utah State University

2016 Winner

Janet Box-Steffensmeier (Ohio State University), Josh M. Ryan (Ohio State University), and Anand Edward Sokhey (University of Colorado at Boulder) for “Examining Legislative Cue-Taking in the US Senate” (LSQ 2015).

Selection Committee:
Barry Burden, University of Wisconsin
Jason Casellas, University of Houston
Susan Miller, University of South Carolina

2015 Winner

“Sore Loser Laws and Congressional Polarization,” by Barry Burden, University of Wisconsin, Brian Jones, University of Wisconsin, and Michael Kang, Emory University

Selection Committee:
Tracy Sulkin, University of Illinois
William Bernhard, University of Illinois
Todd Makse, Susquehanna University

 2014 Winner

“Commitment and Consequences: Reneging on Cosponsorship Pledges in the U.S. House,” by William Bernhard and Tracy Sulkin, University of Illinois (LSQ 38:461-487)

Selection Committee:
Regina Branton, University of North Texas
John Carey, Dartmouth College
Scott Adler, University of Colorado

2013 Winner

“Race, Ethnicity, and U.S. House Incumbent Evaluations” by Regina P. Branton, University of North Texas; Erin C. Cassese, West Virginia University; and Bradford S. Jones, University of California–Davis (LSQ 37:465-489)

Selection Committee:
Ryan J. Vander Wielen, Temple University
Kira Sanbonmatsu, Rutgers University
David Canon, University of Wisconsin

2012 Winner

“Balancing Competing Demands: Position Taking and Election Proximity and the European Parliament,” by René Lindstädt, University of Essex; Jonathan B. Slapin, University of Houston; and Ryan J. Vander Wielen, Temple University (LSQ 36:37-70)

Selection Committee:
Jeremy Clayne Pope, Brigham Young University
Christopher J. Kam, University of British Columbia
Steven S. Smith, Washington University

2011 Winner

“Measuring Aggregate-Level Ideological Heterogeneity,” by Matthew Levendusky, University of Pennsylvania, and Jeremy Pope, Brigham Young University (LSQ 35:259-282)

Selection Committee:
Scott Meinke, Bucknell University
L. Marvin Overby, University of Missouri – Columbia
Sebastian Saiegh, University of California, San Diego

2010 Winner

“Recovering a Basic Space from Elite Surveys: Evidence from Latin America,” by Sebastian M. Saiegh, University of California, San Diego (LSQ 34:117-143)

Selection Committee:
Cherie Maestas, Florida State University
Neil Malhotra, Stanford University
Jamie Carson, University of Georgia

2009 Winner

“Disentangling the Relationship between Legislative Professionalism and Government Spending,” by Neil Malhotra, Stanford University (LSQ 33: 387-414)

Selection Committee:
Michiko Ueda, California Institute of Technology
Marian Currinder, Georgetown University
Keith Hamm, Rice University

2008 Winner

“Do Multimember Districts Lead to Free Riding?” by James Snyder, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Michiko Ueda, California Institute of Technology (LSQ 32: 649-679)

Selection Committee:
John Griffin, University of Notre Dame
Sarah Binder, Brookings Institution
William Mishler, University of Arizona

2007 Winner

“Senate Apportionment as a Source of Political Inequality,” by John Griffin, University of Notre Dame  (LSQ 31: 405-432)

Selection Committee:
Lanny Martin, Rice University
Samuel Kernell, University of California, San Diego
Wendy Schiller, Brown University

2006 Winner

“Influence Without Confidence: Upper Chambers and Government Formation,” by James N. Druckman, Northwestern University; Lanny W. Martin, Rice University; and Michael F. Thies, University of California, Los Angeles (LSQ 30: 529-48)

Selection Committee:
Forrest Maltzman, George Washington University
Scott Mainwaring, University of Notre Dame
Kathryn Pearson, University of Minnesota

2005 Winner

“The Limits of Senatorial Courtesy,” by Sarah Binder and Forrest Maltzman, George Washington University (LSQ 29: 5-22)

Selection Committee:
Charles Stewart III, MIT
Michele Swers, Georgetown University
Garrison Nelson, University of Vermont

2004 Winner

“The Inefficient Secret Revisited: The Legislative Input and Output of Brazilian Deputies,” by Octavio Amorim Neto, Brazilian Institute of Economics Getulio Vargas Foundation, and Fabiano Santos, Rio de Janeiro Graduate Research Institute (LSQ 28: 449-79)

Selection Committee:
Patricia A. Hurley, Texas A&M University
Charles Shipan, University of Iowa
Christopher J. Deering, George Washington University

2003 Winner

“Seats that May Not Matter: Testing for Racial Polarization in U.S. City Councils” by Rory Allan Austin, George Washington University (LSQ 27: 481-508)

Selection Committee:
Janet Box-Steffensmeier, Ohio State University
John D. Huber, Columbia University
Gerald C. Wright, Indiana University

2002 Winner

“The Effects of Party and Preferences on Congressional Roll Call Voting” by Stephen Ansolabehere, James M. Snyder Jr., and Charles Stewart III, all from Massachusetts Institute of Technology (LSQ 26: 533-72)

Selection Committee:
Ben Bishin, University of Miami
David Samuels, University of Minnesota
Sarah M. Morehouse, University of Connecticut

2001 Winner

“Constituency Influence in Congress:  Does Subconstituency Matter” by Benjamin Bishin, University of California at Los Angeles  (LSQ 25: 389-415)

Selection Committee:
Janet Box-Steffensmeier, Ohio State University
William Mishler, University of Arizona, Tucson
Michael Moore, University of Texas, Arlington