Michael Harrington Book Award

The Michael Harrington Book Award recognizes an outstanding book that demonstrates how scholarship can be used in the struggle to making the study of political science relevant to building a more democratic and egalitarian economic, social, and political order.

2021 Recipient:
Albena Azmanova, the University of Kent’s Brussels School of International Studies

2021 Committee:
Joseph Peschek (chair), James Simmons, Andrew Scerri, Matthew J. Evens, Rebecca Tarlau (honorary)

The Michael Harrington Book Award committee has chosen as its winner Albena Azmanova’s book “Capitalism on Edge: How Fighting Precarity Can Achieve Radical Change Without Crisis or Utopia,” published by Columbia University Press in 2020.

Azmanova’s book analyses the mutation of neoliberal capitalism into a more malignant social form she terms “precarity capitalism.” Drawing on history, political theory and political economy to reveal the insecurity afflicting a majority of the population under precarity capitalism, Azmanova provides fresh approaches to thought about radical change in which capitalism is overcome or subverted, rather than stabilized or overthrown.

For more information, see http://cup.columbia.edu/book/capitalism-on-edge/9780231195379. 

Past Recipients
2020: Rebecca Tarlau, Pennsylvania State University
Occupying Schools, Occupy Land: How the Landless Workers Movement Transformed Brazilian Education. Oxford University Press, 2019.

2019: Keisha Lindsay, University of Wisconsin-Madison
In a Classroom of Their Own: The Intersection of Race and Feminism in All-Black Male Schools. University of Illinois Press, 2018.

2018: Gordon Lafer, University of Oregon & Economic Policy Institute
The One-Percent Solution: How Corporations Are Remaking America One State at a Time. ILR Press, 2017.

2017: Peter Dauvergne, University of British Columbia
Environmentalism of the Rich. MIT Press, 2016.

2016: Marie Gottschalk, University of Pennsylvania
Caught: The Prison State and the Lockdown of American Politics. Princeton University Press, 2015.

Additional Recipients »

Deadline for nominations: April 1, 2022

Nomination Instructions: All nominated books must have a 2021 publication date and cannot be an edited collection. Nominations must be made in writing to the committee chair by the publisher, and all five committee members must receive a copy of the book from the publisher at their mailing addresses listed by April 1st in order to be eligible for consideration.

Award Committee

Albena Azmanova, Chair University of Kent, Brussels School of International Studies a.azmanova@kent.ac.uk
Andrew Scerri Virginia Tech ajscerri@vt.edu
Kenton Worcester Marymount Manhattan College kworcester@mmm.edu
James Simmons University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh simmons@uwosh.edu