Richard Cloward and Frances Fox Piven Award

The Richard Cloward and Frances Fox Piven Award recognizes an activist group, in the region of the annual meeting of the American Political Science Association, that puts the ideals of the Critical Political Science Section, “to making the study of political science relevant to building a more democratic and egalitarian economic, social, and political order,” into practice.

2021 Recipient:
Familias Unidas por la Justicia

2021 Committee:
Michael Forman (chair), Edwin Daniel Jacob, Kevin Funk, Frances Fox Piven (honorary)

Familias Unidas por la Justicia is an independent farm workers’ union based in Burlington, Washington. Most of its 400 or so members are indigenous Tiqui and Mixteco people. In 2016, after a long battle in the fields and courts with one of the largest fruit and vegetable producers in the Pacific Northwest (Sakuma Bros.), FUP won legal recognition and later a contract then guaranteeing their members a minimum of $15/hour. FUP has also successfully engaged with the State in an effort to improve working conditions in Washington. And they have been involved with other groups and on behalf of members in support of people detained by ICE. Finally, through their Economy and Ecology Project and their connections with other activist groups, they have worked toward sustainability and food security in the region.

Learn more at:

Past Recipients
2020: East Side Arts Alliance and Cultural Center, Oakland, California
2019: Black Lives Matter, DC
2018: Young Abolitionists, Boston
2017: LeftRoots, San Francisco
2016: Urban Tree Connection, Philadelphia

Additional Recipients »

Deadline for nominations: April 1, 2022

Award Committee

Joseph Peschek, Chair Hamline University
Kevin Funk Spring Hill College
Robert Velez University of Texas, Rio Grande Valley
Frances Fox Piven (Honorary) CUNY Graduate Center