NPS Journal (Taylor & Francis)

New Political Science: A Journal of Politics and Culture (NPS)

New Political Science: A Journal of Politics and Culture (NPS) is the official journal of the Caucus for a New Political Science (CNPS), an independent non-profit organization, and serves as an organ for its goals and interests. It focuses on developing analyses which reflect a commitment to progressive social change as well as those which are within exploratory phases of development in political science. The journal adopts the broadest possible definition of “politics,” and holds that political and cultural development cannot be understood in isolation from each other. All research articles in this journal have undergone rigorous double-blind peer review, based on initial editor screening and anonymized refereeing. To access the most recent edition of this journal, click here.



Judith Grant, Ohio University

Claire Snyder-Hall, Independent Scholar

Reviews Editor

Andy Scerri, Virginia Tech 

Managing Editor

Edwin Daniel Jacob, Arizona State University

Editorial Board Members
Daniele Archibugi – Italian National Research Council, Italy
Clyde W. Barrow – University of Texas, Rio Grande Valley, USA
John C. Berg – Suffolk University, USA
Arthur Blaser – Chapman University, USA
Carl Boggs – National University, USA
John Bokina – Central Michigan University, USA
Jocelyn Boryczka – Fairfield University, USA
Stephen Bronner – Rutgers University, USA
Terrell Carver – University of Bristol, UK
Noam Chomsky – Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Angela Davis – University of California, Santa Cruz, USA
Jennifer Leigh Disney – Winthrop University, USA
Margaret Farrar – John Carroll University, USA
Irene Gendzier – Boston University, USA
Baogang He – Deakin University, Australia
George Katsiaficas – Chonnam National University, Korea
Christine Kelly – William Paterson University, USA
Nancy S. Love – Appalachian State University, USA
Mark S. Mattern – Baldwin Wallace University, USA
Bertell Ollman – New York University, USA
Laura Katz Olson – Lehigh University, USA
Michael Parenti – Berkeley, CA, USA
Joseph Peschek – Hamline University, USA
V. Spike Peterson – University of Arizona, USA
Frances Fox Piven – The Graduate School and University Center of The City University of New York (CUNY), USA
Adolph Reed – University of Pennsylvania, USA
Dean Robinson – University of Massachusetts, Amherst, USA
Meredith Reid Sarkees – American University, USA
Sanford F. Schram – Hunter College, CUNY, USA
Sarah Surak – Salisbury University, USA
Victor Wallis – Berklee College, USA
Cornel West – Princeton University, USA

Taylor & Francis NPS Journal Homepage, including author information

Statement from the Caucus for a New Political Science

For 50+ years, the Caucus for a New Political Science has sustained its commitment “to make the study of politics relevant to the struggle for a better world.” Today, as America and the world once again confront the tragic reality of systemic racism and injustice, we strongly endorse the following statement from the American Political Science Association.


New Political Science: A Journal of Politics and Culture stands with communities around the globe united around the simple yet powerful words: Black Lives Matter. The recent demonstrations in response to the video-recorded murder of George Floyd by a Minneapolis police officer, represent a growing movement not only to respond to the unequal treatment of black and brown people, but also to address the underlying structures from which injustice and inequity emerge. George Floyd joins a long list of names, spoken and unspoken, indicting political structures that support and facilitate structural racism, violence, and structural inequality against black and brown people. The editorial team at New Political Science believes that we must not be passive observers or describers of injustice; instead we are charged with leveraging scholarship to help meet the demand for sweeping social change.

New Political Science has consistently published and supported progressive scholarship with the express purpose of making “the study of politics relevant to the struggle for a better world.” The journal is owned by the Caucus for a New Political Science (CNPS). Founded in 1967 at a moment of political unrest at home and abroad, from its inception, the CNPS served as an original space for making political science political from an explicitly Left, progressive perspective. While we stand in support of the journals and sections of the American Political Science Association that also support these goals, CNPS reaffirms its historical commitment to an activist progressive perspective.

New Political Science remains an intellectually rigorous form for progressive scholarship that contributes to a theoretically and practically informed analysis of politics around the world. In doing so, the journal stands against racism, police brutality, structural racism, and inequality. It also recognizes the intersectional linkages of class, race, sexual orientation, and ability. Today we share a selection of some of our articles most relevant to the political moment that demonstrate how “the study of politics is itself a political act” (Barrow, 2008, p. 503). Many more can be found within the pages of the journal. 

We stand for an antiracist future. We also ask that scholars engage with us on these topics to demand the world we want to see. Another world is possible, and we stand with and support scholars who not only interpret the world but also envision ways to change it.